We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“passing through” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teniqua Treetops

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Teniqua Treetops
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“passing through”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

We have never travelled at peak season so was caught red handed when even the camp sites were full, we always have a back up when other accomadation is full or to expensive.

We had two days to hang around and wait for our sons to join us, we could not find any accomadation or camping in and around Sedgefield so we decided to drive Inland into mountains,, we happened upon the Teniqua tree tops and we're happy to hear that there was a cancellation so we could hire the Tented accomadation for two nights.

Robyn, showed us around, it was basic but absolutely sufficient and said we would take it for the two night,
TILL we were told the price of R2000 night, for the two of us R2500 if more

We were gobsmacked that they could get away with such exhorbatNt prices.
People are obviously paying

so we took it for one night, , as as we were desperate
As the previous guy said, it nice enough but not tree top tents, they are tent'/ with added decking and rooms
very cleverly using recycled items, which we in support of.

We could not find our condiments and the cabin had nothing in the way of a little salt etc.
However, Robyn did give us some coffee and tea to tide us over.

The cabin kitchen cutlery was not well equipped all knives blunt

no where to hang wet towel or hand washing

beds were comfortable enough but I could get that in a little self catering elsewhere..

We aren't saying don't go, but just know that you are paying a premium for the accomadation...that is not upmarket

we were offered a three bedroom serviced 3 star rated unit for 2700, with all modern cons in a leafy area, plus pool and gym, tennis etc the next night

one small note to the owners (the flap on the floor of tent between tent and lounge is dangerous, I tripped numerous times when passing)

Room Tip: Best to check out the various cabins as they are very different in location to each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Retiredtravellers852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Hi, thanks for the input, we will check the knives, there should have been salt and pepper, we constantly replace it. I am sorry it was not really right for you
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    140
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
107
238
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

We spent Christmas here with the family and staying in the tree houses was really a great experience. Robyn and her team have gone through many efforts to ensure that the accommodation is as Eco-friendly as possible. The location is far enough from Sedgefield for you to feel isolated from the buzz of the towns but also close enough to head out for some groceries. The evenings were windy so the flapping of the tents is something to get used to but we managed with a few naps. We traveled as two couples and so the rooms were fine for sleeping the but the toilet facilities are a little "exposed" for our liking and strange noises travel easily in the silence of forest. The tree houses are lovely and well equipped (but do recommend that travelers take your own sharp knife for cooking) and it is very enjoyable stay. .

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ColetteFrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Thanks for the input I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, this is second comment I have just received about knives, I appreciate it and it clearly needs to be Mondays focus.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

Nice enough, but wouldn't return. Not really a treehouse per se, main bedroom is a tented area, but there is a spacious porch. Communal areas more suited to families and children and not so much for 'honeymooners'.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fidyl969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Hi, I am sorry this was not the right destination for you, We try and let our guests experience our unique nature reserve while doing as little damage to the forest as possible
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016

pro's: awesome view
Cons's:
- lady owner is not friendly and we did not receive a good welcome
- massive spiders and nesting on top of the tent inside the treehouse (had to remove 7 spiders the one night...)
- ant nest inside not cleaned out every day

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 30quintinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 29 December 2016
Hi, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, we do on our website warn guests that their can be rain spiders. They come and go, sometimes none, and then when its about to rain they can be there. They are harmless, they live in the forest and occasionally come in. They catch mosquitoes, they are not poisonous and do not bite. We are in 35 hectares of indigenous forest, so they are beyond our control. The Western Cape suffering from a drought, so while we may get a drizzle occasionally our main problem at present is the ants coming out to look for water, again we try and deal with any ants and spiders on a daily basis. The ants are much worse this December. Fortunately they are the little harmless ones.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016

We absolutely loved Teniqua Treetops and it turned out to be one of our favourite places to stay from our whole vacation! The amazing research and trouble they have gone through to make every single treehouse eco-friendly and part of the environment, really made us think about how we can actually live in harmony with nature. Such a great concept and lovely facilities and staff to boot.

This place isn't for luxury seekers, but definitely for adventurers and nature lovers!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank snapmepretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 29 December 2016
Thank you I am pleased you enjoyed our hideout
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
25.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
12.0 km away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
12.0 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
14.8 km away
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
24.0 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 102 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Property: Teniqua Treetops
Address: Foot hills | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Sedgefield
Price range (per night): R1 121 - R2 384
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing