We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$171
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Lodge(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Lake Marina(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Afrovibe Beach House(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duet House(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Eagles Nest(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Afrovibe Beach House(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
304
163
22
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
163
22
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housethe riverunique experiencerock poolsknysna loerieforest walkour honeymoonnature lovershiking trailselectric blanketsboard gamesweber braaigarden routebreathtaking viewscity lifetwo nightsgames room
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We spent Christmas here with the family and staying in the tree houses was really a great experience. Robyn and her team have gone through many efforts to ensure that the accommodation is as Eco-friendly as possible. The location is far enough from Sedgefield for you to feel isolated from the buzz of the towns but also close enough to head out for some groceries. The evenings were windy so the flapping of the tents is something to get used to but we managed with a few naps. We traveled as two couples and so the rooms were fine for sleeping the but the toilet facilities are a little "exposed" for our liking and strange noises travel easily in the silence of forest. The tree houses are lovely and well equipped (but do recommend that travelers take your own sharp knife for cooking) and it is very enjoyable stay. .

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ColetteFrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Thanks for the input I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, this is second comment I have just received about knives, I appreciate it and it clearly needs to be Mondays focus.
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Nice enough, but wouldn't return. Not really a treehouse per se, main bedroom is a tented area, but there is a spacious porch. Communal areas more suited to families and children and not so much for 'honeymooners'.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fidyl969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Hi, I am sorry this was not the right destination for you, We try and let our guests experience our unique nature reserve while doing as little damage to the forest as possible
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

pro's: awesome view
Cons's:
- lady owner is not friendly and we did not receive a good welcome
- massive spiders and nesting on top of the tent inside the treehouse (had to remove 7 spiders the one night...)
- ant nest inside not cleaned out every day

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 30quintinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Hi, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, we do on our website warn guests that their can be rain spiders. They come and go, sometimes none, and then when its about to rain they can be there. They are harmless, they live in the forest and occasionally come in. They catch mosquitoes, they are not poisonous and do not bite. We are in 35 hectares of indigenous forest, so they are beyond our control. The Western Cape suffering from a drought, so while we may get a drizzle occasionally our main problem at present is the ants coming out to look for water, again we try and deal with any ants and spiders on a daily basis. The ants are much worse this December. Fortunately they are the little harmless ones.
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We absolutely loved Teniqua Treetops and it turned out to be one of our favourite places to stay from our whole vacation! The amazing research and trouble they have gone through to make every single treehouse eco-friendly and part of the environment, really made us think about how we can actually live in harmony with nature. Such a great concept and lovely facilities and staff to boot.

This place isn't for luxury seekers, but definitely for adventurers and nature lovers!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank snapmepretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Thank you I am pleased you enjoyed our hideout
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Teniqua is a unique experience. Residing among the jungle of Sedgefield provided an excellent opportunity to disconnect with the world. That said, excellent mobile coverage meant we could keep up to date with friends and world events. The facilities were good and well kept. Insects, including large rain spiders, live in this area and visit the accomodation. The accomodation has an internal tent which can be isolated from the rest of the structure. There are some holes and we had trouble closing the tent completely. Don't miss out on the hike, a swim in the river pool and a swim in the main public pool.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank andre547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews