We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible place... and even wheelchair accessible!!!”
Review of Teniqua Treetops

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Teniqua Treetops
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An incredible place... and even wheelchair accessible!!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We spent two days in this wonderful place into the indigenous forest during our tour of the Cape Peninsula and the Garden Route. For people who love nature this is the best place to be. The treehouses are quite far from one another giving the opportunity to feel fully immersed into the forest and experience its sounds! In addition they have a bbq and a kitchen! We are two paraplegic people and we stayed in a treehouse perfectly equipped for people on wheelchair, with a bathroom featuring a comfortable roll-in shower and bath tube with grab bars! Its not easy to find wheelchair accessible treehouses oround the world! All this made us live one of the most incredible experiences of our tour aroung South Africa!! We surely would recommend this place to ather people with mobility problems like us!

Room Tip: This hotel offers wheelchair accessible accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoeAle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
Thank you, we try. We seldom get people in wheelchairs, so I am pleased it worked well for you
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    148
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
116
254
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We used this as a one night stop over whilst travelling the garden route towards Cape Town , sadly the weather was against us but didn't detract from the fab views and quirky treehouse .. be aware of little crawly guests but you are in the treetop canopy so you have to excpect it , but defiantly worth a visit

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank hoodlessr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
Thank you, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in our bit of paradise.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I took my son to Teniqua Treetops for some boys' time. It was an amazing weekend from start to finish & everything I had hoped it would be. I would highly recommend it as a destination, for a quiet solo get-away, family holiday or honeymoon. The area is spectacular & one feels one is living close to nature. We will certainly be returning with the whole family. Thanks to Robyn & co for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RussellWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 16 November 2016
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I can't give this place a good enough review.
We had all these wonderful plans to explore knysna but once we settled in and lit the fire there was no chance we were going anywhere. It's so unbelievably beautiful. The view is insane and the tree top huts are stunning. They are simple yet so luxurious. its private and quiet and the staff are great. Not a fault to be found. Thanks for having us. We will certainly be back

Alex and Harriet

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 340alexh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 16 November 2016
Thank you. I am so pleased you enjoyed it
Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We had a wonderful stay here. Nice walks around the area, and the views are spectacular. There was a problem with our water supply in the honeymoon cottage, but the hostess luckily had a extra cottage free. Unfortunately the other cottage was not as isolated, and we had loud music and persons echoing through the wood until late that night - this is rather uncomfortable considering both the bath and toilet are outside. I would also recommend the owner to put a simple filter on the water, as even though the tanine-tinted water is 110 % safe, a filter wouldn't be as much effort to supply or to maintain. Also a few maintenance jobs needed on the cottage, but overall it was a nice experience. I would recommend staying here, just make sure to get a more isolated cottage and mentally prep yourself for bathing in coca-cola coloured water :P

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cornebookingcomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 16 November 2016
Hi, sorry you were disturbed, we do ask guest not to play loud music, but sound travels, even though the tree houses are far apart, you can hear people. But, not see them. As for the water, well, its not so simple, we have explored various options, we do not want to use chemicals and pollute the environment, filters would block on a daily basis. It is river water, it is black and its pure and healthy. It is not dirty. We provide separate drinking water. Sorry, the washing water is black / brown and completely natural. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
25.6 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
40.2 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
533 reviews
19.0 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
21.2 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
20.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Property: Teniqua Treetops
Address: Foot hills | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sedgefield
Price range (per night): R1 086 - R2 146
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree house accommodation. Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing