We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beyond our expectations and amazing for our long...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hook Shot Lodge

Hook Shot viewed from garden on Silwerstrand Golf and River Estate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hook Shot viewed from garden on Silwerstrand Golf and River Estate
Staircase at entrance of house leading to rooms on second level
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Hook Shot viewed from garden on Silwerstrand Golf and River Estate
Staircase at entrance of house leading to rooms on second level
Living room with  spacious dining area , television  and kitchen all flowing into one another
Modern kitchen that forms part of living area
Television area with seating
Wine tasting area in living room
En suite bathroom of main bedroom on ground level
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Robertson, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ntobeko N
1 review
“Beyond our expectations and amazing for our long stay.”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We have been going to Robertson twice a year since 2016 and we will stay more than 20 days per given time because our kind of work. Every time we visit we would book a different accommodation simply because we didn't like the last place that we stayed at. This time we booked Hook Shot Lodge for 21 nights and it is so far the best self-catering accommodation we ever stayed at in the country.

21 nights went very quickly for us because we were very comfortable in our accommodation. Everything worked very well. Quick Response and booking assistance thanks to the owner Elda. The place was super clean, spacious and all the facilities worked perfectly for long stay. Thanks to Hook Lodge Team for making our stay the most comfortable one. Definitely we will be back in October...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2018
It was so easy to host these wonderful guests for such a length of time.The house was in mint condition every time it was serviced and it was only a pleasure. I am thrilled that they are planning to return and they are more than welcome. Thank you for your kind and very positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TillieS6
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“YOU WILL WANT TO STAY FOREVER”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The lovely tranquil surrounds is a perfect setting for the house. There is so many ways to describe it, the peace, the views, the beautiful interior, the comfort. What a lovely touch to find an easter egg for each visitor over the easter weekend! And that sums up the whole stay, the little things that one would tend to forget, but come to find, like the coffee, rusks and even fresh milk.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
These very special guests have visited Hook Shot Lodge before.They are caring and mindful guests that any host would love to receive .It is therefore only a pleasure to tend to things that they would enjoy.You will always be welcome at Hook Shot Lodge.Thank you for visiting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UptheLin
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 3 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Hook Shot Lodge is perfect for a few days exploring the beautiful Robertson Valley. Clean, spacious, modern, tastefully decorated, very well equipped and in a stunning and peaceful location overlooking the golf course just outside Robertson. There is a nice big stoop with a built in braai that is perfect for a balmy evening. If the wind gets up there is everything you need in the lovely kitchen.

Elda is full of very useful recommendations for what to do in the area.

There are no compromises here - everything you would expect at home and more. Highly recommended. I certainly wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
I really enjoyed to receive these friendly guests at Hook Shot Lodge.
We are delighted that they enjoyed their stay.
They used every opportunity to explore the Robertson Valley in the time they had available.It was only a pleasure to host our guests on the Estate and they will always be welcome as they are considerate and mindful guests.Thank you for choosing Hook Shot Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a3whd
Hazel Grove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“STUNNING HOME ON GOLF COURSE”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was a large house, within a gated community - spotlessly clean -3 bedrooms, a beautiful open plan kitchen, dining room and lounge with a large terrace. There are large bi-folding doors which open up the whole house onto the terrace which houses a BBQ.

Our bedroom, with air con, had a large en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower and full length bath.

Wonderful views of the golf course and mountains. It’s a 5 minute drive from most of the restaurants.

Elda, the owner, who made us feel so welcome, was there to greet us on arrival and arranged all our restaurant reservations and taxis. She was a wonderful host. We would highly recommend staying here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2018
Thank you for choosing Hook Shot Lodge and for your very positive and detailed review.We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.You are mindful and considerate guests and only a pleasure to host.You will be most welcome to visit again.Take care.Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice N
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A really lovely relaxing luxurious mini vacation”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We love robertson with all its amazing wine farms and people. When we arrived at Hook shot, Elda was there to greet us and show us around, it was around 40deg outside and we struggled with the heat but thankfully our lovely spacious rooms were air conditioned. I would suggest possibly an aircon in the living area as well which would make Hook Shot Lodge pretty much perfect. The kitchen is well equipped and there is an amazing flow to the place. We felt really spoilt and loved looking at the vast constellations on a starry night and one can visit tge club house and a light meal and play some golf. We really relaxed and must thank Elda for being so accommodating and being such a gracious host. Such goodness goes a long way. Will definitely go back as we love the comfort and the ease of travel into the town and surrounding wine farms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
I really enjoyed receiving this friendly family at Hook Shot Lodge.They had 3 days to explore, experience and enjoy our Wine Valley, which they did.I am delighted that they enjoyed their stay.They will always be welcome to return as they are considerate and caring guests.Thank you for visiting and choosing Hook Shot Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing