We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I go back every year, it's like going home to your own farm in Africa!!”
Review of Good Hope Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robertson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Good Hope Farm
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Love the owners Taryn & Tienie, Always helpful, willing and accommodating. The farm is a piece of heaven. The hiking dogs are awesome and always feel safe hiking alone with them. Love the pool, the views, the absolute peace and quiet. No cell phones, radio, tv, just the birds and the wind. A true respite from city life and my "go to retreat" to renergise and revive. I love Good Hope.

Room Tip: Self catering - Mountain cottages, Cheaper self catering - dam cottages. Coming soon - camping site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LindyT911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2016

Goodhope Farm is a great place for a week end break or even more days if you can spare it and all very worth it. We stayed at the Dam cottages and was really not expecting what we got, basic but nice accommodation overlooking the dam. We booked all 5 cottages as the family is massive so we had the whole dam cottages area for ourselves. Kids were well kept busy lots for them to do even the pot belly pigs who are so extremely friendly. Their are a lot of dogs on the farm too and boy were they friendly. My daughter wanted to take one dog home that is how attached she got to them. You can swim till your hearts content, take a hike and visit all three waterfalls, truly a great memory and we have decided to go back literally 6 months later so cant wait.

Room Tip: The dam cottages are basic but you can upgrade to the Mountain cottages if you want that extra comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We stayed in the mountain cottage which was perfect as we were 3 adults & 1 child great double bed and twin beds. Then there is the communal space with a swimming pool, spend most of the weekend just relaxing by the pool area. My daughter enjoyed all the animals and the open space. Breakfast was brought to our cottage one to have when visiting the farm. This is definitely a hidden gem deep in the mountains. The hosts were fantastic and went out of their way to help with any queries. A place to visit once again

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We had a fantastic time at Good Hope Farm (booked 3 of the Dam cottages, early September). The kids (aged 3) had a great time feeding the chickens, collecting eggs, bottle feeding the lamb, joining us for a row on the dam and seeing all the visitors at the cottages. The 2 pot-belly pigs, Black Jack the dog and a flock of peacocks were always close by. The cottages were great and well stocked (we also "took over" the communal kitchen) and we loved the large shower with 2 shower heads (Dam Cottage 1).
The pool was a bit cold, but the kids loved it although it isn't enclosed, so keep an eye on youngsters! The communal hall with DSTV and large flat-screen TV was a hit amongst the men for the Rugby game.
The hosts were fantastic and went out of their way to help with any queries, including allowing me to complete an urgent deadline sitting on their porch (for wifi access).
Will definitely go back again!

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank Hoekmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We stayed in the chalets above the dam which was perfect as we were five families and we each had our own chalet. Then there is the communal space between the first and second chalet were we spend most off the weekend. The kids enjoyed all the animals and the open space. This is definitely a hidden gem deep in the mountains that will see me again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barend69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
41,3 km away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
33 km away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
661 reviews
33,5 km away
Randrivier Guest House
Randrivier Guest House
#11 of 25 in Robertson
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32,1 km away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
400 reviews
33,5 km away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
33,4 km away
Cedar Lodge Guest House
Cedar Lodge Guest House
#12 of 25 in Robertson
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Hope Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Hope Farm

Address: Robertson, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Robertson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing