We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
4 Day Garden Route Luxe Selection Micro Group Tour from Cape Town
3

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Viljoensdrift
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
119
115
25
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
119
115
25
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip the river wine tasting beautiful scenery basket deli picnic banks box cape range winery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

What a lovely surprise when stumbling upon this wine farm. The river cruise along the Breede River is a lovely way to relax and enjoy your ready made picnic to order at the estate. Lots of choice for the picnics, from charcuterie, to local cheeses, dips, crackers, pates, etc. They prepare the picnic in a lovely basket for you to enjoy. They have lovely wines too!
Don't expect too much from the cruise, it is not very scenic.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Nice vineyard where you can pick pre-packed foods for your picnic such as olives, bread, cheese, choppie, smoked salmon, applewood smoked cheese and not forgetting the wine. When we visited it was +40 degrees, so we were a bit overwhelmed in the heat. We had to keep the wine for later. We were glad we didn't do the river tour picnic as there is nowhere to hide form the heat on the boat. So if its hot - stay on dry land :) I thought there would be more a of a vineyard tour, but no its just about selling the stuff really!

Date of experience: December 2012
Thank gordonburns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This wine farm offers an opportunity to enjoy a 1 hour river cruise with your own picnic basket. Upon arrival, we were able to choose the items for our picnic and a bottle of chilled sauvignon blanc. These items were prepared in a basket (with a cutting board etc) which was ready to collect just before we embarked and the wine was nicely chilled in an ice bucket. The boat had two levels and plenty of shade and we just meandered down the river for an hour enjoying the scenery. Great fun and very relaxing. If you dont want to be surrounded by children then avoid the peak holiday season and/or weekends but the kids on board were kept busy and not a problem.

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My husband & I spent the afternoon in the glorious sunshine here at Viljoensdrift as part of our Honeymoon trip to SA.
We thought the service was very friendly, we were able to try wines for free, we chose a bottle of the house sparkling, we then selected various food items from the deli (pate's, dips, fresh warm bread, cold cuts, cheese etc), everything is then put into a lovely little picnic basket for you to take onto the boat.
The boat is an open metal frame structure so excellent for sitting in the beautiful sunshine (they do have umbrella's too!), it cruises along the Breede River for an hour or so, such a fabulous way to spend the afternoon!
We then sat in the garden (in between the River & the vines) for another hour enjoying even more delicious wines from the farm!
Very fair priced for both the picnic & the cruise - very much recommended!

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank Horton-Clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Excellent deli, lovely wines, but the boat cruis is the most relaxing way to savour your treats and eats!

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews