We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Sunday lunch”

Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Robertson
Price range: R 55 - R 184
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The place to lunch in the Robertson Valley if you love Thin-crust wood-fired gourmet pizzas, award winning burgers, great food made to order from fresh local seasonal produce. Located within the lush gardens of the Van Loveren Estate, child and pet friendly seating under the vine-covered pergola, or inside the old Manor House with french doors opening up into the gardens. Also open on Sundays when local musicians set the tone for a laid back afternoon!
Reviewed 15 March 2021 via mobile

We were too late for the black board menu, so ordered burgers, soup and calamari. The food was tasty and nicely presented. The wine was delicious and the service good. Lovely to sit under the trees.
You do need to walk through the garden. It is beautiful

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank elliecourts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear Ellie,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our offering and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2021 via mobile

Great location , great food and service. We had a very pleasant lunch .... until the bill arrived. One of my party accidentally broke a glass during lunch. The bill reflected a charge for a broken glass!

We were amazed. Not one of us has ever been billed for a broken glass. Sadly this has lost this restaurant customers. In these Covid times one would think that eateries are looking for business not loosing it.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank oranjezichtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear oranjezichtgirl,

My apologies that you were charged for the glass. This stems from a table that broke 5 glasses just the week before. Your waiter erroneously charged you as well.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the rest of our offering. Please let me know if you visit again, and I will gladly reimburse you.

Kind regards,

Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021 via mobile

We have dined here before and everytime we were thrilled by the setting and food. I had the Thai Chicken wrap and hubby a pizza with a bottle of van Loveren Rosé. The food was fresh and tasty, the setting gorgeous and outside, the service was friendly and efficient. A lovely experience

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank XeniaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Thank you for your wonderful Review!

We hope to see you soon again!.

Kind regards,

Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020

when u order your steak medium rare and it comes done u send it back and 40 min later still no meat...the whole group ate. everyone was done and I had no steak. and then you get attitude. 3 bottles of wine. not one did they pour for us. bad service and the manager has no clue how to handle all this. the staff needs training.
such a beautiful spot but if the staff spoils it then this can't work.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank ness860
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EstiStrydom, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2020

Hello Jess,

Thank you for your review.

I must apologize as we got this wrong on the day. Your waitress never informed the kitchen that she requires a refire on your fillet.

Please e-mail me on chefchristinas@gmail.com as I would like to invite you and your table back, to rectify the situation.

Kind regards,

Delia Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2020

Well presented and tasty food in a lovely relaxed setting. Pizza was excellent - think crispy base and saalds and deserts delicious!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Adventure603402
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
delia200, Owner at Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Thank you for your great review!

Kind regards,

Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to Christina's Bistro at Van Loveren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.