We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
37
19
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
19
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great impression braai facilities enjoyed our stay home away from home great place to stay hostel kevin dorm suite garden hosts weekend
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Definitely call ahead and make a booking, the owners like to know when you’ll arrive so they can make you feel at home instantly.

This place felt like staying at your aunt or uncles while in town. We had a couple of nights in the dorm and then camped out in the back garden once the rain stopped.

Can’t say I’ve ever felt more comfortable and chilled out in a hostel environment.

It’s a short walk through the quiet backstreets to town and an easy drive to great wineries.

We kind of miss the place and our wonderful hosts a bit.

The rafting guide Lee was lovely too and even showed us how to make Pap.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jimmyjayistheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Kevin and his team is awesome. Cool place, good vibes and happy people. One of the best I've been to this year and I visited about 30 backpackers. Beds are clean, toilets neat, braai area is sick and close to everything you need.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Never stayed at a backpackers before and was very impressed with the experience. Our en-suite room was spotless and very comfortable, perfect for our needs, the free wifi was very handy. Kitchen available for guests and breakfast can be ordered at a small extra cost. Very reasonable price overall. Very hot the day we arrived and the pool was very welcoming. Our accommodation was very quiet and peaceful.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseeker7177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

The room was decent for the price, basic amenities and enough space for us to hang out together. Kitchen was fully stocked and the lady who hosted us was reasonably welcoming. Unfortunately we had a bit of an incident with driving into the property with loud music playing for our radio. After banging on our window to get us to turn it down, the male host proceeded to 'kick us the f*ck' out after we complained about how rude and unacceptable his manner was.
Definitely not a 'the customer is always right' kind of place. The owners are opinionated and not very welcoming of cultures that are different to theirs. If you are White Euro/White Afrikaans however,you have nothing to worry about :)
Needless to say, we wont be staying here again.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank capetownsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinG1Cape, Owner at Robertson Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Drunken anti-social behavior that disrupts and disturbs our other guests is not acceptable and will not be tolerated at Robertson Backpackers, no matter what race or colour you are. To pull the race card when faced with eviction is disingenuous. Your behavior was an absolute disgrace and embarrassment to all South Africans, especially in front of our foreign guests.
The audacity to write a complaint, when we have photos of them, passed out and wasted, in the public communal area is absolutely shameful. This is further documented in the blogspot kevlyninafrica .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

This accommodation is a "home-away-from-home" in the true sense of the word. Clean lodgings, comfortable bed and friendly and helpful hosts.
The most quiet we've had in a long time.
We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yolande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews