We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic way to experience the Roberston Wine Valley. Highly recommended!”

Robertson & McGregor Wine Tasting Tours
Ranked #2 of 5 Tours in Robertson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: My full day special tour includes in the 1964 Holden pick up / drop off (Robertson) a true South African picnic lunch at Springfield Wine Estate, all wine tasting fees and full day wine tasting from 9:30am to 4pm. Total cost for this tour is R1950.00 for two people (valid all year). Optional extra: Book Same Day Traditional South African Braai.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 16 October 2018

My wife and I did this tour with Andre in his beautifully restored 1964 Holden in February this year, and we had a fantastic day. Andre was incredibly accommodating, and knowledgeable about wine and the Robertson Wine Valley. We enjoyed experiencing wine farms that were off the "beaten track", so to speak, and Andre had excellent relationships with the owners/administrators of each of the farms we visited. We particularly loved the flexibility of the tour - it gave us the opportunity to linger longer at the farms that we liked the most. Highly recommended. Thank you Andre!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreV2265, Owner at Robertson & McGregor Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback, it was only a pleasure to spend the day with you, hope to see you soon again for the McGregor experience. Regards, Andre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guest house"
in 2 reviews
"great tour"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"andre"
in 7 reviews
"farms"
in 3 reviews
"valley"
in 2 reviews
"wine"
in 2 reviews
"tasting"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

Andre is not only a wine expert but extremely good company for your trip through the valley. He tailors your trip exactly to your liking, changes plans when he sees the need to do so. Unfortunately he can't be your drinking buddy for the day...

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank B1941RXtimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre V, Owner at Robertson & McGregor Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks Tim, it was only a pleasure showing you around the valley, and also cheers for the picks, next time we will get a driver, ha ha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Andre did such a great tour with us 1year ago (see my 1/2017 review) so we not only followed his recommendation to stay at mcGregor area (Tanagra wine farm) this year but also booked Andre again for a wine tour. It was a full day tour this time and worth it! He picked us up in the morning and dropped us back at the accommodation in the late afternoon. It was much more than a wine tour: small and very special wineries you might not find on your own, visit at a fruit distributor where you can get fruits that were picked right from the local trees, a great and highly interesting olive oil and olive tasting, a drive "off the roads" and into the countryside. Great wines, great tasting experience, great landscape, great food including a picnick made by Andre!
And so much information on the area, the wines, the people, the country that you can only get from somebody who is not only local but loves what he does and where he lives and is willing to share it!
If you go to this area it does not make sense to drive yourself for tasting tours - wines are too beautiful not to drink them :-)
We'll be back, Andre!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank LisaUll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre V, Owner at Robertson & McGregor Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

It was great and an honor to take you once again on a wine tasting experience in the Robertson Wine Valley, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

One of the best times I've ever had. Our first experience of the Robertson valley but definitely one of the best. Andre was amazing and so knowledgeable. His knowledge of the Robertson area and the wineries was astounding. Andre sat with us describing about the wineries and the history of each farm and the people who live and work there.

The day went on with more amazing experiences and awesome memories made. Some odd 30+ bottles bought and still going strong. What a time!

Andre and his beautiful vintage Holden gave us memories of Robertson that we will never forget and frankly wanting to relieve for a few more hours.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

The day started off with seeing the car and let me just tell you that this car is epic. We went to 6 farms in total with each adding something special.

But Andre is a gifted man. If you want a tour where you learn history science and fun? Then this is the tour for you.

Andre is really nice guy he sits with you and shares his knowledge and abit of history at every farm which makes the tour fun and vibrant.

I did this tour for my birthday and it was the best birthday ever.

Thank you Andre for amazing tour.

Attached are some photos.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank michaelacourtney95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre V, Owner at Robertson & McGregor Wine Tasting Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hello Andre, thank you for your great review and it was only a pleasure driving you around the valley, hope to see you soon again to taste a little of McGregor as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robertson & McGregor Wine Tasting Tours also viewed

Robertson, Western Cape
Robertson, Western Cape
 
Robertson, Western Cape
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to Robertson & McGregor Wine Tasting Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing