We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$62
Agoda.comUS$62
eDreamsUS$62
TripadvisorUS$62
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
109
53
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
53
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slept like a baby rooms are spacious in town guest house george hospitality drought bedding hostess
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2020

After a night at Karoo Lodge we were carrying out our luggage just after 10. The hostess appeared and said she was sorry to be 'chasing' us but the room had to be cleaned before 12. Was this comment necessary to a paying customer who was clearly leaving? In the rush to get out of their way, I forgot my orthopaedic pillow. Did the host bother to phone me and say my pillow was there? No, he didn't. Visitors never rush off, there is a morning market and lots to see, so it was very likely we'd still be in town... but no, no phone call. When we arrived home and my husband called the host and asked if they'd drop it off at Pep Stores (down the road) if we paid over the Pep to Pep courier service, his reply was that he would do it if he was paid for the 'trouble' of doing so as well. The Swartberg Hotel owner subsequently agreed to do us this favour!
The room was okay, spacious and clean, but the stones in the shower are certainly unhygienic.
The grounds are very dry because of the drought, and unfortunately no attempt has been made to create a water-wise garden
The breakfast was of good quality.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imelita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Hi
Unfriendly ? No !!.

Your husband seeked to have long conversations , laughs and joke telling with both owners and did not take offense to the company kept

It is rational to accept that to courier or mail forgotten items that other than the cost thereof, additional cost become involved, such as purchasing packaging material, time factor and fuel.

The fact that you made use of the swimming pool long after departure time (10.00) and that we were running to full capacity and had great need to service the suite which you had occupied, does not require to blame us for you forgetting some of your baggage. We distinctly recall that you were being hurried by your partner and not by us

FYI Karoo Lodge is inspected on a regular basis in compliance with heath regulations. The comment offered do not apply


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

Just what I was looking for. Traditional Afrikaans hospitality. Not expensive either. The grounds here are a little oasis in a water stressed area. The breakfast was excellent and we were made to feel very special. The room was huge and bed very comfortable. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lifehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Hi,

Sorry!. a Bit late in reply but necerless, thank you for your positive review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

Set well back from the main road so all is peaceful and quiet. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had everything one needed. Bed was comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Enjoyed an excellent breakfast the next morning. Beautiful grounds and well maintained despite the drought. All in all a great stay and have no problem in recommending Karoo Lodge should you be staying over in Prince Albert.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Hi Stephen,

Thank you so much for this great review.

Lovely to know that all of our efforts to make a stay exceptional is awarded

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2019

This B&B with suites and dinner also possible, is a hidden gem in Prince Albert.
Great rooms, superb and comfortable bed....very rare... pleasant and hospitable hosts and very good value too. We will go back again... :-)

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lalipet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2019

Thank you
You have said it all and it counts!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2019

Four of us spent 4 nights at the Karoo Lodge. Close to everything in town, Off the main road away from any noise. There is plenty of off road parking. The pool looked inviting allbeit a little cold when we were there. Air-conditioning in all rooms and the beds very comfortable. Daily cleaning ensured that everything was just right. Sitting out in the garden reading or having sundowners could not have been better. The breakfast was great and Elsabie and George made sure that every morning there was something different to go with the eggs and bacon. Georg's marmalade, which is also available to purchase and take home, is superb. Will return again.

Room tip: All accommodation accessible on the ground floor.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2019

Fear Les.

Thank you for your supportive review.
Being a resident of the Luangwa Game reserve in Zambia, we really appreciate your top rating of our establishment as you know what this (hospitality industry) is all about

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews