We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$61
eDreamsUS$61
TripadvisorUS$61
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
109
53
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
53
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slept like a baby rooms are spacious in town guest house george hospitality drought bedding hostess
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2019

This was not our first trip to Prince Albert but spending 3 nights in the town this time was our longest. Our accommodation at the Karoo Lodge was ideally located and set back in a private plot with quiet garden and pool on the hight street. The shops, restaurants and Saturday farmer's market were within easy walking distance. Our spacious rooms with large beds, bathrooms and fridges were ideal for our activies. Breakfast and evening meals were a delight and our hosts, George, Elsie and daughter, made us feel very welcome. We will definitely stay at the Karoo Lodge again on our next visit to Prince Albert.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2019

Dear Victor ,

Thank you for your review.

Thank you also describing the surround and nearby facilities. few guest comment include there.

Glad to leard that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

So... we just spend the last two days in Prince Albert...and stayed at the Karoo lodge B&B guesthouse and boy what a friendly bunch of people... good food and very neat and tidy rooms. We will definitely come and stay here again....Thank you Elsabe and George we had a awesome time in your beautiful town.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank PaulB12747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thank you Paul for this review

Your words strengthen us to continue with our ongoing effort to become better and better in our chosen field

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019

Arriving at Karoo Lodge we were immediately made to feel comfortable and at home in an efficient, non-fussy manner. An extremely spacious suite facing the refreshing pool made for a relaxing treat after the breathtaking if challenging drive across the Swartberg Pass. The verandah is overgrown with a vibrant green vine, adding to a sense of serenity on a sweltering summer afternoon. My husband watched a bit of cricket while I was able to do some admin using the good quality wi-fi network. Ideally located on the main street, we were able to stroll from Karoo Lodge to town before taking a quick rewarding dip in the pool, for which pool towels are specifically provided. A definitive highlight was the outstanding dinner of world-class tender, aromatic Karoo lamb neck with delectable vegetables accompanied by a wonderfully sprightly Villiersdorp Shiraz. Followed by the tart sweetness of a slice of frozen lemon pie, this made for what was possibly our best supper in almost three weeks' time at a very reasonable price to boot. Throughout, the service was genuinely friendly and hospitable. Settling down on the vast king bed surrounded by a quiet, dark Karoo night we have but one aim: returning to Karoo Lodge's charm and hospitality and brilliant cuisine as soon as we possibly can.

Room tip: Room 2 is almost next to the dining room and close to the pool. Keeping windows closed during the day keeps the room cooler.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank michelefromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your refreshing and descriptive review.

What you did not say is that both you and Roelf had been wonderful guest and through your friendly and appreciative manner, inspired all of us to perform to our best.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Thank you for the GREAT hospitality that we received during our stay, we loved our spacious room and the breakfast was divine. We enjoyed our visit in your Beautiful Town!!! Looking forward to our next visit!!

Room tip: Large comfortable rooms with the BEST Karoo breakfast
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Getaway65841614217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Thank you for this review

Glad that we could contribute to the wonderful experience that is named Prince Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

In common with many places during the winter season, I was the only guest. The welcome was genuine and warm, and the room was enormous compared to anything you will get from a B&B in Britain, especially from a solo traveller perspective! It also benefits from proximity to restaurants on the opposite side of the road for an evening meal.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi John,

Thank you for this review.

Yes, winter is always a bit on the slow side and accommodation availability at a peak.
Glad to know that you appreciated our very (45sqm) spacious suites.
Cannot believe that traveling through the vast open spaces of the Karoo that some travelers are satisfied to stay in a 2 x 4 room and be happy about it. With this in mind we, from the word "Go", set out to offer space, comfort and a touch of luxury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews