We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$62
eDreamsUS$62
Agoda.comUS$62
TripadvisorUS$62
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
109
53
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
53
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slept like a baby rooms are spacious in town guest house george hospitality drought bedding hostess
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2019

Arriving at Karoo Lodge we were immediately made to feel comfortable and at home in an efficient, non-fussy manner. An extremely spacious suite facing the refreshing pool made for a relaxing treat after the breathtaking if challenging drive across the Swartberg Pass. The verandah is overgrown with a vibrant green vine, adding to a sense of serenity on a sweltering summer afternoon. My husband watched a bit of cricket while I was able to do some admin using the good quality wi-fi network. Ideally located on the main street, we were able to stroll from Karoo Lodge to town before taking a quick rewarding dip in the pool, for which pool towels are specifically provided. A definitive highlight was the outstanding dinner of world-class tender, aromatic Karoo lamb neck with delectable vegetables accompanied by a wonderfully sprightly Villiersdorp Shiraz. Followed by the tart sweetness of a slice of frozen lemon pie, this made for what was possibly our best supper in almost three weeks' time at a very reasonable price to boot. Throughout, the service was genuinely friendly and hospitable. Settling down on the vast king bed surrounded by a quiet, dark Karoo night we have but one aim: returning to Karoo Lodge's charm and hospitality and brilliant cuisine as soon as we possibly can.

Room tip: Room 2 is almost next to the dining room and close to the pool. Keeping windows closed during the day keeps the room cooler.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank michelefromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your refreshing and descriptive review.

What you did not say is that both you and Roelf had been wonderful guest and through your friendly and appreciative manner, inspired all of us to perform to our best.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Thank you for the GREAT hospitality that we received during our stay, we loved our spacious room and the breakfast was divine. We enjoyed our visit in your Beautiful Town!!! Looking forward to our next visit!!

Room tip: Large comfortable rooms with the BEST Karoo breakfast
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Getaway65841614217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Thank you for this review

Glad that we could contribute to the wonderful experience that is named Prince Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

In common with many places during the winter season, I was the only guest. The welcome was genuine and warm, and the room was enormous compared to anything you will get from a B&B in Britain, especially from a solo traveller perspective! It also benefits from proximity to restaurants on the opposite side of the road for an evening meal.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi John,

Thank you for this review.

Yes, winter is always a bit on the slow side and accommodation availability at a peak.
Glad to know that you appreciated our very (45sqm) spacious suites.
Cannot believe that traveling through the vast open spaces of the Karoo that some travelers are satisfied to stay in a 2 x 4 room and be happy about it. With this in mind we, from the word "Go", set out to offer space, comfort and a touch of luxury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

The hosts are very friendly and can tell you anything you would like to know about the area. The b&b has a beautiful garden and a refreshing pool and the rooms are very quiet. Moreover it has a good breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Klara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Hi Klara,

Thank you.

Glad to know that you enjoyed our facilitie
Thought that you wanted to know that;
The Swartberg Mountain range form the natural border between the Great and Little Karoo.
Prince Albert lies to the north of this range and is settled in the Great Karoo.
Prince Albert enjoy a Micro, almost Sub-tropical, Climate and remain green throughout the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Thank you to Elsabe,George and Danielle..we love coming back to Karoo Lodge ..everytime we stay in the same large comfortable room and even sit at the same dining room table ..the breakfasts are tasty and hearty..the evening meals which George prepares are a must ..his dishes are the best especially the lamb..everything about Karoo Lodge is 5 star ..the garden is peaceful and park like ..the pool is amazing..hospitality is ist class..Prince Albert is a lovely town with much to do and when the accommodation is this great we wished we lived closer than PE..we can only but recommend Karoo Lodge to eveyone even though we do it enviously..

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank waynekonicasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Wayne, thank you very much for this review.

Realy good to know that you enjoyed your stay and your recommendationto others is heartwarming and welcome
Great!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews