We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$62
eDreamsUS$62
TripadvisorUS$62
StayForLong
Agoda.comUS$62
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
109
53
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
53
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slept like a baby rooms are spacious in town guest house george hospitality drought bedding hostess
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

After passing stunning Swartberg Pass, all we needed was a place that we could be comfortable, have some rest and enjoy good food. We arrived Prince Albert on sunday where 95% of eating places were closed. Luckily in Karoo Lodge, we had the chance to book for dinner. Believe me, they make the best food that we can find in this town and it's just delicious! Hospitality is great, they help you with everything. The rooms are very big, comfortable, clean, are decorated aesthetically. They have a big garden that you can rest between trees and birds. Last but not least, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast outside in the morning. What else could we want? We highly recommend this place!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dicle elif t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank You for this review

The inner secret of Karoo Lodge is the IN-House Restaurant which we named "@66".

We keep the menu small with Karoo Comfort Food the our golden line. Wanting to keep on enjoying the preparation and presentation we also limit the number of patrons at all sittings. Main thing is, there is no waiting for tables or food!!!. If you want Dinner at any time between19:00 and 19:45 so it will be.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

i came from Durban and had a wonderful time at the karoo lodge, everything was perfect, i slept like a baby i would recomend the place to other people as the best, its very clean and peaceful, the owners are friendly to all guests,its really a home away from home

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank nkuluh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear nKuluh,

Thank you!!

Yes , Karoo Lodge being in the center of a hectare of lush garden and the way in which the bedroom suites are placed, ensure that no or very little street noise reach the ear. Certainly helping to enjoy the peace and quiet which Karoo Lodge offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We spent 2 nights at Karoo Lodge in the heart of Prince Albert. This is one of the most relaxing, friendly and comfortable places we have found on our travels, (and we travel a lot). The rooms are spacious, the garden vast with easy recliners and the food is second to none!! GEORGE, the proprietor is the chef and you must sample the wonderful evening meals he conjures up. Elsbe, his wife is charming, friendly and helpful. A nicer couple would be hard to find. This is the only place to stay when in the Karoo!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JnandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Neville & Mavis,

Indeed you are a charming couple and we enjoyed your stay at Karoo Lodge
Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Experienced a lovely relaxing two nights at the Karoo Lodge. The room was big and comfortable. Dinner was lovely. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming.
Thank you Elsabe and George and daughter - lovely breakfast.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karinhelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Karin

Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

This is a lovely welcoming venue, the family running it is lovely and very helpful. The rooms were clean, and very spacious. We made regular use of the swimming pool, which was great. We were in Room number five, which has a nice patio at the back, too. I'm not sure if the other rooms also have their own patios, they may do.
As many other reviewers have said, the food was excellent. We would definitely recommend this place.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews