We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As real as real gets”

The Real Food Company
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

I’ve known Jeremy for more than 20 years, and attended one of his cooking classes 10 years ago. Every time I see him he surprises me with something new.

He has invented himself moving from corporate to cooking - and the world of food is better for it.

His menu is limited to what inspires him for that week and what fresh and seasonal ingredients he can find. But whatever he presents, its always tasty, homely, full of bold flavour and comes with a story and a smile.

The restaurant is small so booking is essential. A must visit when visiting Prins Albert.

His food talent does not stop with dinner on a Friday and Saturday night - his passion now extends into cured pork meat - available at local stores or on-line. And for the foodies out there who are brave and bold enough to try it yourself, you can attend one of his charcuterie courses.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Karin_Henriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2020 via mobile

Our host at had recommended and booked us for dinner. She told us we wouldn't be disappointed and we weren't.
Dinner was delayed by about 1 hour due to load shedding but to get things going we started with the beef tataki. We followed this with a lightly spiced vegetarian panyere and finally the Karoo Mutton Rogan Josh (fragrant, spicy, delight).
The wine list is limited but we opted for a not too badly priced Gabriekskloof Sauvignon Blanc.
It's supposed to be a tapas menu but portions were large enough and not badly priced so that we left contented and not broke.
Service was good and the owner/chef, Jeremy engaged with all the guests.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank hiltontait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2020

There is something special about eating food made with care from locally sourced produce. We chose to have our selection of dishes placed in the centre of our table and dishes up from there. We started with the Beef Tataki (we voted it dish if the day), followed by the Pork Neck Cutlets (melt in the mouth comfort food) and the Karoo Mutton Rogan Josh (fragrant, spicy, delight). The wine list is an adventure and after much deliberation we had the Leeuwenkuil Shiraz - it was perfect. Friendly and engaging service from Jeremy and his staff. We left feeling delighted and nourished.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank 523LaurenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2020 via mobile

The most lovely dinner. We love tapas as you experience a range of flavours. Jeremy’s tapas is superb - Asian and western flavours. Look forward to coming back.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank tamsinf2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2020

Fabulous fresh tasty food. The menu was small and interesting and the service was very good. Intimate dinner space.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank ZAlover1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Real Food Company also viewed

Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 

Been to The Real Food Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.