We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Room Restaurant, Swartberg Hotel, Prince Albert
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 May 2021

What a charming restaurant and attentive staff. Breakfast very good. Accessibility for patrons with wheelchairs and walking problems a bit difficult.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oosthuizenchrist2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

We had dinner two nights in a row at the Victoria Room, purely because the first night was so good. The Oxtail and Lambshank is excellent. Good ambience, beautiful background music. Friendly and helpful staff. Loved the old world charm of the hotel.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank AnnelineM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

This was our second and my third visit to the Swartberg Hotel. The last time (in January) I was locked out because I missed the COVID curfew (oops). This time (although we did not stay there) there was no curfew or alcohol restriction and we could celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary is style - with wine.

The ambiance is one of sophisticated reserve with victorian style decor and soft piano music. The food was impressively affordable for the portion sizes and the variety. The wine list is more than sufficient to pair a good selection with any of the dishes, and like the food, very well priced. This was the biggest surprise, as often hotels of some stature are known to charge disproportionately to their offering.

My husband had the shank while I opted for two starters, and everything was delicious. The service was friendly and thoughtful.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Karin_Henriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

Good service but BAD food. Most of the popular entrees were not available; food that got served was cold and had to be sent back to be heated. I had the Oxtail which was very tough. They blamed it on staff letting them down but did not really take any responsibility for the bad experience.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank RaymondG448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020

Firstly they were out of many items, no rack of lamb, no lamb pie, no kudu pie etc.
Secondly they said they were too busy to bring the soufflé starter before the mains, so their brought it with the main ... huh ?
The oxtail was tough - really tough. The chicken curry was very bland. The 3-way green pasta was a disaster of note ... more suitable as dog food.
The veggies were cold and the food terribly overpriced, especially for such a mediocre establishment.
The waiter was friendly.
It is at best a tourist trap and and should be avoiding as far as possible - steer clear!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank spurfowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victoria Room Restaurant, Swartberg Hotel, Prince Albert also viewed

Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 

Been to Victoria Room Restaurant, Swartberg Hotel, Prince Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.