We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
gbucher2021

Out of Africa, at its best!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Nov 2021
If you enjoy peace and quiet, luxurious accommodation and the opportunity to relax and star gaze in an unspoilt environment, then this is the place to go. A truly "Out of Africa" experience. More than a 5 Star experience.
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 350
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
30.7 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
R 1 320
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 450
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
30.9 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
One of the bedrooms
R 1 706
R 1 556
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
30.7 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
Travellers Rest
R 980
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
31.1 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 900
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
31.4 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 805
R 1 714
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
Granaatbos open-plan Single beds
R 898
R 800
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
35.6 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
Lounge
R 1 190
R 1 095
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 095
30.9 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 598
  • Priceline
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Prince Albert
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive oil the cottages loved every moment long weekend our night stay made us feel at home farm stay a great stay cape town swimming pool chantelle lara dams olives soul host fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2021

The warmest welcome was the beginning of a lovely stay. @rolo.thegreat , our Great Dane was also welcomed with open arms. The Cook's cottage was well equipped, lovely eclectic decor and the special touches of olives, oil and eggs made our weekend even more special. A shooting star made it even more special!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ceciliadekock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2021

After a few hours on the road Vrischgewagt appeared as an oasis in the karoo. Little did we know what was in store for us. We were warmly welcomed by Chantelle at the Library cottage. Opening the front door and seeing the table set and walking through the stunningly decorated living area, spacious bedrooms and bathrooms was simply thrilling. Our stay was amazing and although we wanted to do a lot more sightseeing we always rushed to our warm fireplace and comfortable home from home. A Smeg fridge, Nespresso machine, crisp bedlinen, electric blankets, king size beds and fluffy towels were just some of the comforts offered. Not to mention our gifts of olives, olive oil and farm eggs. Our 4 days went by too quickly. Meiringspoort waterfall so pristine and Prince Albert and De Rust with it's small country feel and meandering streams and friendly people also a must see. What a way to recharge. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Veet221
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

The rugged beauty of the Karoo and great accommodation made this one of our more memorable and special holidays. Lots to do keeping three generations entertained and happy. Also a treat to the nearby Swartberg Pass covered in snow and visit to the quaint town of Prince Albert. We are already considering our next visit to beautiful Vrisch Gewagt.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2021

We were warmly welcomed by Chantelle, a fantastic host during our stay. the cottage is immaculately clean and comfortable. Delicious olives and olive oil made on sight was a highlight, we loved exploring the fauna and flora on the farm, we wil be back for sure!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roba328
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Wow!! Really don't know where to start. What a beautiful stay we had at Vrisch Gewagt. Peaceful, comfortable and the friendly welcome and care from Chantelle, was outstanding. There really is nothing that we could fault in our stay. We loved every minute. We were blessed with so many free gifts on arrival, from Olive Oil, to Wine, To fresh Veggies. Thank you. We will definitely be back. Loved, loved our stay and a special thank you to Chantelle for making our stay so welcoming.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John & Glenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews