We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Elvie Moreira

Ms

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Sept 2021
After a few hours on the road Vrischgewagt appeared as an oasis in the karoo. Little did we know what was in store for us. We were warmly welcomed by Chantelle at the Library cottage. Opening the front door and seeing the table set and walking through the stunningly decorated living area, spacious bedrooms and bathrooms was simply thrilling. Our stay was amazing and although we wanted to do a lot more sightseeing we always rushed to our warm fireplace and comfortable home from home. A Smeg fridge, Nespresso machine, crisp bedlinen, electric blankets, king size beds and fluffy towels were just some of the comforts offered. Not to mention our gifts of olives, olive oil and farm eggs. Our 4 days went by too quickly. Meiringspoort waterfall so pristine and Prince Albert and De Rust with it's small country feel and meandering streams and friendly people also a must see. What a way to recharge. Highly recommend.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 050
  • Priceline
    R 2 050
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 050
  • Vio.com
    R 2 050
30.3 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
R 1 800
  • Priceline
    R 1 800
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 620
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 620
30.4 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 350
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 351
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 350
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 350
30.7 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
R 1 450
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 450
  • Priceline
    R 1 450
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 450
30.9 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
R 1 775
R 1 634
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 620
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 634
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 620
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
Travellers Rest
R 980
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 960
  • Priceline
    R 980
  • Agoda.com
    R 980
31.1 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 900
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 901
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 900
  • Priceline
    R 1 900
31.4 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 312
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 312
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 312
  • Vio.com
    R 1 312
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main house with tea garden
R 400
Multiple ways to pay
  • Priceline
    R 400
  • Vio.com
    R 400
  • Booking.com
18.0 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
Granaatbos open-plan Single beds
R 850
  • Expedia.com
    R 747
  • Hotels.com
    R 747
  • Agoda.com
    R 850
35.6 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Prince Albert
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive oil the cottages loved every moment long weekend our night stay made us feel at home farm stay a great stay cape town swimming pool chantelle lara dams olives soul host fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2021

The rugged beauty of the Karoo and great accommodation made this one of our more memorable and special holidays. Lots to do keeping three generations entertained and happy. Also a treat to the nearby Swartberg Pass covered in snow and visit to the quaint town of Prince Albert. We are already considering our next visit to beautiful Vrisch Gewagt.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2021

We were warmly welcomed by Chantelle, a fantastic host during our stay. the cottage is immaculately clean and comfortable. Delicious olives and olive oil made on sight was a highlight, we loved exploring the fauna and flora on the farm, we wil be back for sure!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roba328
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Wow!! Really don't know where to start. What a beautiful stay we had at Vrisch Gewagt. Peaceful, comfortable and the friendly welcome and care from Chantelle, was outstanding. There really is nothing that we could fault in our stay. We loved every minute. We were blessed with so many free gifts on arrival, from Olive Oil, to Wine, To fresh Veggies. Thank you. We will definitely be back. Loved, loved our stay and a special thank you to Chantelle for making our stay so welcoming.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John & Glenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2021

I am left with a bitter taste.
The "deposit" of R 1000 is a bit cheeky as it is, but to have to wait a week for it to be refunded, and then only after a prompting, and then the insult of being paid R 900 in refund with no explanation! No response as yet from them as to when the last measly R100 will be returned.
The poetic description of the location conjures dreamy thoughts until the reality strikes. The site of power lines obscuring the view, and the sound of rumbling trucks and traffic at high speed on the adjoining tar road spoil what would otherwise be a very peaceful place. (At least at night the traffic subsided)
Place needs some attention.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ianvanzuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lara Casasola, Owner at Country House Vrisch Gewagt, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

Dear Ian,
What a disappointment to receive a review that clearly is an attempt to damage the excellent reputation the farm has built.

You review was untruthful and distorted because you were upset for us taking R100 for breaking a water glass. Did you not know you broke the glass??

You say that we did not get back to you, when I have proof of the email explaining the reason before your review was posted.

You vote us 2 stars for value, when we upgraded you for free to Cooks cottage. A saving of R2300.
You drank our complimentary bottle of wine, ate our complimentary olives and olive oil made on the farm. Drank 10 x complimentary Nespresso pods. And used 6 crates of fire wood. All under a self-catering experience. And you claim there was no value?

You rate us 1 star for location and say lies of traffic noise, when the farm is positioned on the Swartberg nature reserve measuring 1200sq/km which is a UNESCO world heritage site and our farm is 16sq/km. The nearest town is 35km away. All our other reviews score us highly because of the peace and serenity that they experienced on the farm.

Disgraceful and disappointing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

We stayed for two nights and found our cottage, Cooks Cottage, well equipped and very nicely decorated. The lamb, vegetables and eggs we ordered were absolutely delicious and fresh. The bottle of wine and olive oil supplied at no charge were a splendid surprise and nice touch to our arrival after a long day travelling. A suggestion we have is perhaps to provide a trolley of some sorts to assist carrying one's luggage and groceries from the car to the cottage (Cooks Cottage) as it is quite a way to carry without any assistance in that heat.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank antsrosenbaum60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews