We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John & Glenda V
Kirkwood, South Africa

John and Glenda Voogt

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 May 2021
Wow!! Really don't know where to start. What a beautiful stay we had at Vrisch Gewagt. Peaceful, comfortable and the friendly welcome and care from Chantelle, was outstanding. There really is nothing that we could fault in our stay. We loved every minute. We were blessed with so many free gifts on arrival, from Olive Oil, to Wine, To fresh Veggies. Thank you. We will definitely be back. Loved, loved our stay and a special thank you to Chantelle for making our stay so welcoming.
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 050
  • Priceline
    R 2 050
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 050
  • Vio.com
    R 2 046
30.3 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
R 1 800
  • Priceline
    R 1 800
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 617
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 620
30.4 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 350
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 341
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 339
  • Priceline
    R 1 350
30.7 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
R 1 450
  • Priceline
    R 1 450
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 447
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 450
30.9 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
R 1 634
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 617
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 620
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 634
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
Travellers Rest
R 980
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 963
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 980
31.1 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 900
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 896
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 900
  • Priceline
    R 1 900
31.4 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 312
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 312
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 312
  • Vio.com
    R 1 310
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main house with tea garden
R 400
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 400
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 385
  • Vio.com
    R 399
18.0 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
Granaatbos open-plan Single beds
R 850
  • Expedia.com
    R 764
  • Agoda.com
    R 850
  • Hotels.com
    R 765
35.6 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Prince Albert
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive oil the cottages loved every moment long weekend our night stay made us feel at home farm stay a great stay cape town swimming pool chantelle lara dams olives soul host fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2021

I am left with a bitter taste.
The "deposit" of R 1000 is a bit cheeky as it is, but to have to wait a week for it to be refunded, and then only after a prompting, and then the insult of being paid R 900 in refund with no explanation! No response as yet from them as to when the last measly R100 will be returned.
The poetic description of the location conjures dreamy thoughts until the reality strikes. The site of power lines obscuring the view, and the sound of rumbling trucks and traffic at high speed on the adjoining tar road spoil what would otherwise be a very peaceful place. (At least at night the traffic subsided)
Place needs some attention.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ianvanzuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lara Casasola, Owner at Country House Vrisch Gewagt, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

Dear Ian,
What a disappointment to receive a review that clearly is an attempt to damage the excellent reputation the farm has built.

You review was untruthful and distorted because you were upset for us taking R100 for breaking a water glass. Did you not know you broke the glass??

You say that we did not get back to you, when I have proof of the email explaining the reason before your review was posted.

You vote us 2 stars for value, when we upgraded you for free to Cooks cottage. A saving of R2300.
You drank our complimentary bottle of wine, ate our complimentary olives and olive oil made on the farm. Drank 10 x complimentary Nespresso pods. And used 6 crates of fire wood. All under a self-catering experience. And you claim there was no value?

You rate us 1 star for location and say lies of traffic noise, when the farm is positioned on the Swartberg nature reserve measuring 1200sq/km which is a UNESCO world heritage site and our farm is 16sq/km. The nearest town is 35km away. All our other reviews score us highly because of the peace and serenity that they experienced on the farm.

Disgraceful and disappointing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

We stayed for two nights and found our cottage, Cooks Cottage, well equipped and very nicely decorated. The lamb, vegetables and eggs we ordered were absolutely delicious and fresh. The bottle of wine and olive oil supplied at no charge were a splendid surprise and nice touch to our arrival after a long day travelling. A suggestion we have is perhaps to provide a trolley of some sorts to assist carrying one's luggage and groceries from the car to the cottage (Cooks Cottage) as it is quite a way to carry without any assistance in that heat.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank antsrosenbaum60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2020

Special place with everything you need. We could have spent our whole holiday on the farm. Everyone loved it. Look forward to returning. Nature and solitude. Soul food. Chantelle was great and the kids loved Wendy and Marnu

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 566eddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2020

Beautiful tasteful accomodation in a magnificent setting. Chantelle was an excellant hostess, warm and efficient and her lamb is superb. Lovely to be greeted on arrival with olive oil, olives and wine from the farm. We will return and will recommend it far and wide.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annette563
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2020

After 12 hours on the road, it is the perfect overnight (and longer) stopover. The stillness and beauty of the farm is so welcoming. The farm is well managed by Chantelle who is always available for the smallest request. The cottages are very tastefully decorated and are well stocked for self catering. Doggy heaven too!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews