We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nicolene1983
Cape Town, South Africa

Stepping back in time, with all the luxury

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Oct 2020
This was truly a magnificent stay!
The hosts are super friendly.
Views and surroundings that feel like you in a postcard.

We had the most special time here. We could rest, recharge and feed our soul. Loved every moment and we will be back with friends and family!
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 050
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 050
  • Vio.com
30.3 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
R 1 350
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 350
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 350
30.7 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
R 1 450
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 450
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 450
30.9 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
R 1 305
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 162
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 320
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 634
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 598
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 620
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
Travellers Rest
R 980
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 960
  • Expedia.com
    R 980
31.1 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 900
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 881
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 900
31.4 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
room 2
R 950
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 950
  • Vio.com
31.0 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
Granaatbos open-plan Single beds
R 800
  • Expedia.com
    R 800
  • Hotels.com
    R 762
  • Agoda.com
    R 800
35.6 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
Main house with tea garden
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 400
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
18.0 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Prince Albert
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive oil the cottages loved every moment long weekend our night stay made us feel at home farm stay a great stay cape town swimming pool chantelle lara dams olives soul host fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2020

We only spent 1 night in the charming Hannes Cottage, Amazing place , peaceful and Tranquil. Wish we could have stayed longer. The staff were all amazing and all our needs were met to perfection. We'll be back.

Gary and Wendy

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 974gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2020 via mobile

Amazing family time, stunning house, a luxurious home with views of forever! Kids, fires, books, stories, walks, waterfalls, Karoo lamb and most importantly a setting and space to get lost in! Staff seriously good, perfect attention to detail

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shappyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2020

It is the second time we stayed at Frisch Gewaght. One time at Wintertime and now in Summer. The clean and well stocked cottages, a roster, wood, karoo lamb tjops ordered before our arrival and a full moon, created a perfect night of the stars moment in the beautiful to remember.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AntonRSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2020

We found the room particularly the bedroom to be very small and the bed cramped in the corner. The lounge had a very uncomfortable sitting arrangement but otherwise the farm was beautiful and so peaceful.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
laravg2016, Manager at Country House Vrisch Gewagt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Dear Ann,
Thank you for the review.

You chose Artist cottage which is one of our smallest (approximately 50sq/m) cottages, the cottage is also the most affordable for our budget conscious guests. It is also our most authentic cottage which is a restored workers quarters dated from the 1900’s.

Traveling with 2 dogs, I would suggest that next time you perhaps take Hannes or Cooks cottage to offer you a lot more space.

I wish that you would have expressed your unhappiness open arrival as we would have gladly upgraded you to Hannes cottage at no extra cost. We always endeavor to make our guests feel happy and comfortable.

If ever you visit us again, I would be happy to offer you Hannes cottage for Artist cottage rates (a free upgrade) to make up for your recent experience.

Kind regards
Lara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020

We stayed 2 nights in the Artist’s Cottage and wish we could’ve stayed at least a week. This was by far the best place we’ve stayed in years. The beauty of the setting, the amenities and stylish decor, the home made products: fresh milk from the local cow, Wendy, the most yellow eggs, amazing olives and olive oil and an unbranded bottle of wine to die for. The kitchen is perfectly equipped with all we needed for self-catering and we loved having our doggie explore the farm. The walks are beautiful and the swimming pools just incredible. Chantelle welcomed us and she was very attentive and took great care of us. The karoo lamb chops were wonderfully marinaded and waiting for us on arrival (extra cost). I cannot wait to return in the future.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MeraaiKraai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews