We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$165
View deal
Booking.com
eDreams
Hotels.comUS$165
Expedia.comUS$165
PricelineUS$165
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
69
7
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
69
7
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive oil cooks cottage karoo lamb beautiful farm the cottages fresh milk attention to detail self catering perfect location second visit a wonderful stay stayed longer chantelle olives luxury recharge soul
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018

What an amazing spot !! Cannot stress enough how good was the feeling to discover this beautiful and well maintained farm, with their cottages and houses, all far enough from each other so you can feel completely secluded in the Karoo. We had the Paradhuys house, and we cannot say better than WOW.
The house is absolutely amazing. You wouldn't think that a such secluded old mansion would be so well decorated, very modern but still having this old-fashioned, or let's say vintage spirit. All equipped, very good mattresses, swimming pool and great view.
You should take a walk up the dam, through the olive trees, you won't be disappointed.
Only regret ? Not staying longer....

Also a warm thank you to Chantale who made our stay absolutely memorable ! We will be back !

Matt

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mathfrom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We stayed for 2 nights and wished it was for more. Hannes cottage was excellent, the tranquility and location was superb. Great hiking from the farm, access to fresh produce was great. If you have self catering provisions this is a high quality place. Really relaxing, really calm. Super facilities. The staff were efficient, friendly and very good. one of the best places we have stayed at and if back in South Africa very likely to visit again.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We recently stayed in the Birdwatcher’s cottage and were totally overwhelmed by the beauty of the setting and the lovely cottage itself. I loved the shower with a view, and the fact that the bed had hot blankets. A big plus was also that we had the full unit for ourselves as the Artist’s cottage is right next to it. The management will book out any of the other unit if is not booked together by more than one party who travel together. We went for lovely walks on the property, but signage could be improved. Thanks for everything Lara & Chantelle, we will be back!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Evitschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon in Hannes Cottage here and it was one of our favourite places. The accommodation is well designed and very clean, the setting is breathtaking and the sense of peace out here is pretty special. We particularly enjoyed swimming in the dam in the mornings! I can highly recommend to anyone looking for a break from it all.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Ease, marvel & authentic luxury is what comes to mind when thinking back to our stay.

Chantalle was brilliant, a Karoo gem. She made sure that we had all we needed so that our stay on our first leg of our production trip went as smoothly as possible. With our tightly packed schedule, she went well over her mandate.

Whether it was prepping for the day or returning; Vrisch Gewagt recharges.
Milk the cow and enjoy proper, and we mean PROPER organic produce that they cultivate there; their attention to detail, forward thought and readiness to assist when needed is astounding. Not to mention the quite, clean landscapes and the privacy.

We are unable give a single negative simply because none exist.

With the plans of definitely returning, we are still daydreaming about our stay.
A trip through the Karoo is not complete if this Oasis is not on the list; for holiday or business.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheRareLibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews