We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
thepagegirl
Stellenbosch, South Africa

A retreat for the heart

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 Dec 2017
As you open the white gate,
You might as well
Hop on and take that ride like you used to.

You arrive
The enormous prickly pear cactus is the first to say hello
You enter the house and
Calmness
Chantelle
A scruffy dog
Wooden floors
And a fridge full of lamb chops

Welcomes you

You can wake up at 6am
Not to the sound of your iphone’s alarm
But to the sheep’s bleat
to go and milk the cow.

You will:
Drink fresh milk every morning in your coffee
Sit at the braai with friends
with your glass of pinotage
Drizzle the olive oil from the farm
Over whatever you like.
See the stars so clear
Climb into bed, realizing that the electric blanket
Has already been switched on
For you.

This place is so perfect for
a quick break away for couples/
a long holiday for big families

Chantelle has the best recommendations for stuff to do.
She recommended we go to Buffelsdrift, to spend time with the Elepehants.
Amazing amazing!!!
I would suggest you don’t plan too much.
Just get there, sleep, eat, rest, drink wine, swim, lie in the sun.

Thank you for all your support
love, service, helping hand and hugs.
We will be back sooner than you think.
I know for sure, this must be the place.
Date of stay: December 2017
Room Tip: The cottages are intimate and beautiful for small families of couples! I would suggest you book...
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 800
  • Priceline
    R 1 800
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 714
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 800
30.4 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 550
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 550
  • Vio.com
    R 1 521
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 550
30.7 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
R 1 320
  • Priceline
    R 1 320
  • Vio.com
    R 1 296
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 320
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 450
  • Priceline
    R 1 450
  • Vio.com
    R 1 423
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 450
30.9 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
Travellers Rest
R 980
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 980
  • Expedia.com
    R 931
  • Lol.travel
31.1 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 900
  • Priceline
    R 1 900
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 900
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 900
31.4 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 775
R 1 634
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 620
  • Priceline
    R 1 775
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 620
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 312
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 312
  • Vio.com
    R 1 288
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 312
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main house with tea garden
R 400
  • Priceline
    R 400
  • Vio.com
    R 393
  • Agoda.com
    R 400
18.0 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
Granaatbos open-plan Single beds
R 850
  • Expedia.com
    R 835
  • Vio.com
    R 786
  • Agoda.com
    R 850
35.6 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Prince Albert
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive oil the cottages loved every moment long weekend our night stay made us feel at home farm stay a great stay cape town swimming pool chantelle lara dams olives soul host fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

The cottage accommodation at Vrisch Gewagt Olive Farm is truly magnificent. The cottages interior designs have been carefully thought through to provide guests with relaxed elegance and a sense of space and light throughout the guest areas, bedrooms and bathrooms. All fittings are of the highest quality and further demonstrates the attention to detail and thought put into designing these beautiful cottages. At sunset the views are particularly amazing and the clear star filled skies are something to behold after dark. This accommodation cannot be recommended highly enough.........outstanding!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NigelK218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Some friends recommend Vrisch Gewagt so we decided to do a little detour in or route and stop there. Best decision of our trip! The surrounding nature is stunning and the little house we stayed in a dream, beautifully decorated, with lovely details. A place where everything comes from the heart!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 79hannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2017

The moment you arrive at Vrisch Gewagt you become acutely aware that you've arrived somewhere very special.

From the gorgeous mountains that surround the farm, the beautifully restored homestead, the quaint cottages, the lazy river and its bird life, the sound of sheep and at times even to the pure sound of silence ... it all makes for what can genuinely be described as a little glimpse of paradise

The exquisite attention to detail and understated luxury make Vrisch Gewagt a true Karoo gem which invites you to unwind, recharge and rejuvenate.
Nothing is too much trouble for Chantal and her friendly staff.

If an opportunity to visit the farm should arise, be kind to yourself and go. You will want to go back again ... and again ...

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlB2798
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Vrisch gewacht is a place that once you visit, it will occupy a piece of your heart for years to come.

It is a little bit of heaven here on earth which has been so beautifully designed and cared for with a serenity about it that is rare to find.

There are two exquisitely renovated and decorated homes that sleep about 8 each in 4 spacious en suite bedrooms. With little cottages that are eclectically decorated with decor perfect for the surroundings.

It is the perfect place to go in big groups. The main house has so many different places to sit with breathtaking views of the Swartberg in the distance and the working olive and sheep farm in the foreground.

The resident sheep and cows add a wonderful feel. We thoroughly enjoyed feeding the lambs and milking the cow

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank CarolH3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2017

A group of 11 old school friends met up for a 3 day break. We couldn't have asked for a better venue which provided: exquisitely furnished homes in a spectacular historic setting; magnificent walks; a farm experience; high quality olives and oils and the opportunity to pop out to the beautiful towns De Rust and Prince Albert.
There are so many things we still want to see in the area so we'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 906lynnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews