We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
zive91
Johannesburg, South Africa

absolutely incredible

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Oct 2017
We arrived late afternoon after a long drive. When we got to the gate we could of never expected what came next. We got to our room (with both the fireplace and braai prepped and ready to go) and were welcomed with a bottle of wine, a jar of olives, fresh milk and eggs from the animals on the farm. We settled in and started to braai our Karoo lamb with the most breathtaking sunset in the back ground. If I had known the beauty that awaited us I would of stayed at least a week!! After such a long drive I never expected to feel so relaxed, the surroundings allow you to truly unwind like i've never experienced before. I will never stay anywhere else on my way down to the cape! Thank you for the incredible experience and amazing service! Will be back soon to hike those mountains!
Date of stay: August 2017
Room Tip: All the rooms looked amazing. Any room you choose will be expectional
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 050
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 050
30.3 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
R 1 800
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 620
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 620
30.4 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 350
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 339
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 339
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 339
30.7 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
R 1 450
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 450
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 450
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 450
30.9 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
R 1 634
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 620
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 620
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 620
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
Travellers Rest
R 980
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 960
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
31.1 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 900
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 900
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 900
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 900
31.4 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 312
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 312
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
30.8 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main house with tea garden
R 400
Multiple ways to pay
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 385
  • Vio.com
18.0 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
Granaatbos open-plan Single beds
R 850
  • Tripadvisor
    R 765
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 765
35.6 km from Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Prince Albert
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
7
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive oil the cottages loved every moment long weekend our night stay made us feel at home farm stay a great stay cape town swimming pool chantelle lara dams olives soul host fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Had we known the treat in store for us, we would have stayed for more than 2 nights. The riverside, artists' cottage sleeps two, and is light and airy and immaculate, without decorative clutter. Perfectly functional kitchen with high quality cookware and appliances.
The working farm, set against the northern slopes of the Swartberg mountain, is beautiful, with a clear running river, dams with bird hides, and an accessible kloof for hiking.
And the night sky! Well, you're in for another wonderful experience.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Two thumbs up, can't wait to return.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bit0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We stayed in Hannes cottage to celebrate our anniversary. The cottage was simply stunning! We couldn't have asked for any better. All the staff were friendly and accommodating. They even allowed us to milk Wendy (the cow). But it is the small touches that make this farm one in a million. From the complimentary olive oil, wine and olives (which were delicious!!) to the fresh milk and being given free rein to roam around this beautiful farm, everything was simply perfect. We will definitely be going back!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahmaioza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Our stay was simply spectacular – the farm is beautiful, our room (we stayed in Hannes cottage) was a complete delight and the customer service from Chantelle was amazing! We enjoyed hiking in the surrounding area, trips into Prince Albert and just lazing by the pool. The farm olives are the best we have ever tasted, the Karoo lamb chops we braaied under the stars one night were incredible and waking up to a cup of Nespresso coffee was a treat. We were visiting for our 10th wedding anniversary and couldn't have wished for a better place to celebrate - I can't recommend Vrisch Gewagt highly enough.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrskatelitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Stunning home, decorated with style and beauty. Captures the surrounds and holds enormous history and character. Ultimate comfort and the host, Chantelle is incredibly helpful and accommodating, she makes sure you are comfortable and all your requirements are thought of and seen too. It is our second visit to this beautiful farm and has been just as lovely in both farm houses.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Very relaxed weekend in the Karoo. Will highly recommend the accommodation. The WiFi was not sufficient but who wants WiFi in the Karoo. Lovely new communal Pool area with spectacular views. Kitchen utensils can be improved.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Koos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews