We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
163
34
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
34
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house home from home steeped in history escape the heat restored house main street feel so welcome breakfast is served homemade bread peaceful haven an absolute road tripping amazing hosts cycle tour swartberg pass down to earth rooms were spotless
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2021

If you’re road-tripping through the Karoo, a stop-over in Prince Albert is an absolute must. And when you do, staying at Onse Rus guest house is more than recommended.
Located on the main road through town, you can’t miss it and makes it ideal for exploring the town on foot. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious. To escape the heat of the Karoo, Onse Rus boasts a little oasis with a pool which is ideal to relax.
Hosts Leonard and Neil are extremely welcoming and happy to help with whatever you may need. They know the town very well and are happy to share their knowledge and insider tips.
Last but not least: the breakfast is more than generous and absolutely delicious.
What was supposed to be a weekend trip ended up in a 10-day long stay. A true gem (and also dog friendly).

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flo_engi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard R, Owner at Onse Rus Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2021

Hi flo-engi,

Thank you so much for the lovely extensive review of your stay with us at Onse Rus.

It was a pleasure to have you and Raja here with us, and know we will see you again very soon!

Leonard and Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2021

A truly amazing experice from start to finish with Onse Rus - so accomodating and the booking experience was quick and easy!

Good recomendations on restaurants nearby, room was so luxurious!

Loved every minute of our stay and will definately be back!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vicky_Hill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard R, Owner at Onse Rus Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Hi Vicky,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Onse Rus.

I am glad we made your stay memorable and look forward to welcoming you back!

Leonard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

We stayed at Onse Rus Guest House for the first time on our most recent visit to Prince Albert over Christmas. Situated on the main street, it is a historic and beautiful thatched building offering five different guest room options - several of which face the inviting pool area which is located in a tranquil garden. Substantial breakfasts (included) and delicious dinners (by request) are served in this picturesque poolside/garden setting. There is also a gym area and bicycles are available for guests' use. 

Hoteliers/owners Leonard and Neil have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry. Their down to earth and friendly approach makes you feel immediately 'at home' and they work very hard to ensure that all their guests' needs are met. Numerous personal touches add to one's comfort and enjoyment - good coffee, a bodum and fresh milk are provided in the rooms along with a bottle of wine, rusks, fudge and other treats. I particularly appreciated the personal welcoming letter along with the map and up-to-date list of recommendations of activities that are on offer in the town.

I could wax lyrical for quite a while but I'll conclude by saying that the combination of informal and friendly service with flawless professionalism is a tricky balance to achieve and Neil and Leonard totally nail it. We eagerly anticipate staying at Onse Rus again - it will be like coming home!

Thank you Leonard and Neil and everything of the best to you from John and Christopher.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank Jaysea2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard R, Owner at Onse Rus Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2021

Hi John and Christopher,

Thank you so much for your lovely, detailed review of your recent stay at Onse Rus.

In the past year we've worked very hard to enhance and elevate the guests experience, and appreciate that our efforts haven't gone unnoticed.

We loved having you here, and thankful the you chose to sped your Christmas with us and our friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Onse Rus and Prince Albert!

Leonard and Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2020 via mobile

Here is a couple that understands hospitality. Leonard is the quintessential host and Neil makes sure the background stuff runs like clockwork. This guesthouse is steeped in history. One if the original venues to find lodging with the most exquisite garden courtyard I’ve ever seen.

Love, love this place and will be back many times in years to come!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank quintkloppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard R, Owner at Onse Rus Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Hi Quint,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at Onse Rus.

Sometimes the universe conspires to take you where you need to be. We’re delighted that you happened to find your way to us.

We loved sharing our home with you and look forward to many more chats, maybe over a glass of wine or two.

Leonard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020 via mobile

What a wonderful 3 night stay! Stayed with my family (2 adults and 2 kids) in the 2 bedroom cottage and it was lovely - Super comfortable beds!! The place is gorgeous and run by 2 wonderful hosts that really do all they can to make your stay enjoyable.
Beautifully appointed rooms, excellent breakfast and superb hospitality - what more can one ask for? Highly recommend!
Big thanks to Leonard and Neil!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank na1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard Remmers, Owner at Onse Rus Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Dear Na1605,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us!

We loved having you here, and loved that we seemed to hit the nail on the head with suggestions on what to do in the area.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back, to share a little more of our little bit of paradise!

Leonard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews