We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$100
US$92
View deal
Priceline
Hotels.comUS$100
Expedia.comUS$100
eDreamsUS$92
CheapTicketsUS$100
Orbitz.comUS$100
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
395
48
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
395
48
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double shower swartberg pass underfloor heating place to stay attention to detail rooms are spacious the main street worth a visit swimming pool great hospitality b and b a great stay enjoyable stay wonderful place cape town beautiful town breakfast was delicious
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2021

What a lovely place! The most helpful and friendly service with spotless beautiful accommodation and great breakfasts. I thoroughly recommend a visit. The wealth of local knowledge of the hosts was very useful.

Date of stay: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Soennichsen, Owner at De Bergkant Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2021

Hello 'Philip S'

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review comments here on TripAdvisor following your two-day experience in April 2021 @ De Bergkant Lodge. We are so glad to read that you both thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us, and we greatly appreciate your kind words and feedback. Rest assured that your comments will be passed on to all those who contributed to making your stay a more comfortable one.

It was a great pleasure for us all that you have chosen to stay @ De Bergkant Lodge here in Prince Albert in the Great Karoo. We are so delighted that you both fully enjoyed our Guest House and its setting, the comfortable and spacious Suite you stayed in, our big pools (biggest pools in town in a Guesthouse), the 15 m – as well as the 10 m saltwater swimming pool, our Finnish Sauna, our freshly prepared breakfast, where much of our fare on our breakfast buffet comes from the village and local farms in and around Prince Albert, and all the lovely staff.

The entire team is looking forward of welcoming you both again here in Prince Albert, this charming little and tiny town, whenever your travels brings you back into this part of the Great Karoo! Prince Albert is always worth a trip, isn’t it?

Warm Regards from a sunny Prince Albert
Michi+Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2021

Oh My word, this is a not to be missed experience, we arrived at De Bergekant and were greeted by our marvelous hosts met us with smiles --- Oh my the rooms, to die for, we had the upstairs rooms, mine was in the trees and I just loved my bedroom, Our breakfast was on the pool deck, delicious and our every need was catered for with a friendly smile. Honestly we could not have asked for a better stay.. I cant wait to go back.

Date of stay: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CodyShebajinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Soennichsen, Owner at De Bergkant Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2021

Hello 'CodyShebajinx'

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review comments here on TripAdvisor following your one-day experience in March 2021 @ De Bergkant Lodge. We are so glad to read that you all thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us, and we greatly appreciate your kind words and feedback. Rest assured that your comments will be passed on to all those who contributed to making your stay a more comfortable one.

It was a great pleasure for us all that you have chosen to stay @ De Bergkant Lodge here in Prince Albert in the Great Karoo. We are so delighted that you and your group members fully enjoyed our Guest House and its setting, the comfortable and spacious rooms you stayed in, our big pools (biggest pools in town in a Guesthouse), the 15 m – as well as the 10 m saltwater swimming pool, our Finnish Sauna, our freshly prepared breakfast, where much of our fare on our breakfast buffet comes from the village and local farms in and around Prince Albert, and all the lovely staff.

The entire team is looking forward of welcoming you all again here in Prince Albert, this charming little and tiny town, whenever your travels brings you back into this part of the Great Karoo! Prince Albert is always worth a trip, isn’t it?

Warm Regards from a sunny Prince Albert
Michi+Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2021

Very hospitable husband and wife team own and operate this great lodge with spacious and pristine rooms in a beautiful and extremely well maintained property. We will aways stay at De Bergkant Lodge when we visit Prince Albert.

Date of stay: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X9262EGdonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Soennichsen, Owner at De Bergkant Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Hello 'Don M'

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review comments here on TripAdvisor following your two-day experience in March 2021 @ De Bergkant Lodge. We are so glad to read that you both thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us, and we greatly appreciate your kind words and feedback. Rest assured that your comments will be passed on to all those who contributed to making your stay a more comfortable one.

It was a great pleasure for us all that you have chosen to stay @ De Bergkant Lodge here in Prince Albert in the Great Karoo. We are so delighted that you both fully enjoyed our Guest House and its setting, the comfortable and spacious Suite you stayed in, our big pools (biggest pools in town in a Guesthouse), the 15 m – as well as the 10 m saltwater swimming pool, our Finnish Sauna, our freshly prepared breakfast, where much of our fare on our breakfast buffet comes from the village and local farms in and around Prince Albert, and all the lovely staff.

The entire team is looking forward of welcoming you both again here in Prince Albert, this charming little and tiny town, whenever your travels brings you back into this part of the Great Karoo! Prince Albert is always worth a trip, isn’t it?

Warm Regards from a sunny Prince Albert
Michi+Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Arriving way before check-in we were heartily welcomed. The spacious room was even better than the pic's online ,not to mention the quaint bathroom!! So many specials treats-welcoming decanter with sherry, filter coffee great breakfast. Gracious hosts - Michael and Renate- thanks very much for sharing your home and making us feel part of your extended family. The gardens are beautiful and a choice of 3 pools to cool down! Thanks to you and all your staff for making this a memorable experience!

Date of stay: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peetp2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Soennichsen, Owner at De Bergkant Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

Hello 'peetp2021'

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review comments here on TripAdvisor following your one-day experience in March 2021 @ De Bergkant Lodge. We are so glad to read that you both thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us, and we greatly appreciate your kind words and feedback. Rest assured that your comments will be passed on to all those who contributed to making your stay a more comfortable one.

It was a great pleasure for us all that you have chosen to stay @ De Bergkant Lodge here in Prince Albert in the Great Karoo. We are so delighted that you both fully enjoyed our Guest House and its setting, the comfortable and spacious room you stayed in, our big pools (biggest pools in town in a Guesthouse), the 15 m – as well as the 10 m saltwater swimming pool, our Finnish Sauna, our freshly prepared breakfast, where much of our fare on our breakfast buffet comes from the village and local farms in and around Prince Albert, and all the lovely staff.

The entire team is looking forward of welcoming you both again here in Prince Albert, this charming little and tiny town, whenever your travels brings you back into this part of the Great Karoo! Prince Albert is always worth a trip, isn’t it?

Warm Regards from a sunny Prince Albert
Michi+Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021

My wife and I spent two nights here while on a road trip.. The owners are delightful and we were shown to a lovely room. Breakfast was served by the swimming pool, and the birdlife was delightful. Breakfast was delicious. At our advanced age, it is unlikely that we will visit De Bergkant again but, if we do, this is where we would stay.TonyC,Howick

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Soennichsen, Owner at De Bergkant Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Hello 'Tony C'

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review comments here on TripAdvisor following your two-day experience in February 2021 @ De Bergkant Lodge. We are glad to read that you both thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us, and we greatly appreciate your kind words and feedback. Rest assured that your comments will be passed on to all those who contributed to making your stay a more comfortable one.

It was a great pleasure for us that you have chosen to stay @ De Bergkant Lodge here in Prince Albert in the Great Karoo. We are so delighted that you both fully enjoyed our Guest House and its setting, the comfortable and spacious room you stayed in, our big pools (biggest pools in town in a Guesthouse), the 15 m – as well as the 10 m saltwater swimming pool, our Finnish Sauna, our freshly prepared breakfast, where much of our fare on our breakfast buffet comes from the village and local farms in and around Prince Albert, and all the lovely staff.

The entire team is looking forward of welcoming you both again here in Prince Albert, this charming little and tiny town, whenever your travels brings you back into this part of the Great Karoo! Prince Albert is always worth a trip, isn’t it?

Warm Regards from a sunny Prince Albert
Michi+Renate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews