We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Highly recommended!

Our group spent a couple of early morning hours with Sue Dean walking around this nature reserve... read more

Reviewed 4 November 2018
Michelle_RQ
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Karoo secrets

Mention Sue Dean to anyone in the country who is interested in plants and nature and they know who... read more

Reviewed 28 September 2017
FrancoiseArmour
,
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Read all 14 reviews
  
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
11
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Our group spent a couple of early morning hours with Sue Dean walking around this nature reserve and it was so interesting - we could easily have spent another hour or two. What looks like featureless desert vegetation contains so many interesting stories and we learnt so much. This is time very well spent and we will look at succulents, termites and other creatures of the desert with a new sense of interest and respect! Highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Michelle_RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue D, Owner at Wolwekraal Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thank you for your positive review Michelle. Sue Milton-Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Mention Sue Dean to anyone in the country who is interested in plants and nature and they know who she is. Impressive and well-deserved. Sue led my botanist clients and I on a wonderful guided walk around her private reserve and we were thrilled. Without her, we would never have noticed many of the plants and we would certainly not have learnt much just looking alone. Sadly, the current drought is causing much harm and Sue is visibly upset to see this, but next year the rains should come and all will be good again.

I recommend this tour to anyone - not only those with a specialist in plants - because many people think the Karoo is dull and this reserve, with Sue's knowledge, will change the way people perceive the Karoo.

Thanks Sue!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank FrancoiseArmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

It was a real privilege to take a walk through the Wolwekraal Nature Reserve together with Sue Milton. Learned a lot from her about the plants and animals in the Prince Albert area.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Platteland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

This walk was fascinating and it made me really see the Karoo and all its beauty through different eyes. Sue's love for all things natural is inspiring and I learned so much from her. I will definitely go again when next in Prince Albert as there is just so much more to see and learn. I highly recommend this walk for any nature lovers.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank karenanneharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Dr Dean knows her subject and takes you on an interesting walk. It was informative, but I would say, imho, somewhat dry, humorless, too academic. `if you are staying in Prince Albert for more than 2 days, thid tour should be on your list "to do"

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank roger_eva_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews