We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Taking home some Karoo succulents

We live on a farm in the free state,and use ground water sparingly. On a visit to Prince Albert we... read more

Reviewed 7 July 2019
Christa G
,
Villiers, South Africa
Highly recommended!

Our group spent a couple of early morning hours with Sue Dean walking around this nature reserve... read more

Reviewed 4 November 2018
Michelle_RQ
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Read all 14 reviews
  
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
11
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Dr Dean knows her subject and takes you on an interesting walk. It was informative, but I would say, imho, somewhat dry, humorless, too academic. `if you are staying in Prince Albert for more than 2 days, thid tour should be on your list "to do"

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank roger_eva_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were a large group from the Plettenberg Bay Bird Club and were taken out on an inspiring informative wander through the reserve with Dr Sue Milton Dean sharing her vast kknowledge of Karoo plants & animals small & large. This is a outing not to be missed by nature lovers a definate value for money. As my husband & I were travelling to Tankwa the following day this added a new perspective and enriched our stay.

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

If you are looking to really understand both Prince Albert and the Karoo itself, this walk is not to be missed. Get some relaxed exercise in some of the best air you will ever breathe, accompanied by an extremely knowledgeable guide.

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank RobynM480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Wonderful to go walking with Sue Dean on the reserve, which encompasses many typical Karoo plants and some endemic to Prince Albert, as well as an old settlement site replete with original artefacts. A fine informative walk to recommend to one's guests, preferably on a sunny winter's day with fabulous views of the town and Swartberg foothills. Important too for educational purposes - the Karoo was never just an empty space!

Date of experience: June 2013
2  Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Hugely informative, fascinating walk with Sue Dean. Take in the splendour of the Karoo veld as Sue shares her vast knowledge and makes the journey come alive explaining both flora & fauna, great, small & tiny - just takes one's breath away.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews