We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of the Klein Karoo”
Review of Karoo kombuis

Karoo kombuis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 October 2019

We were welcomed as old friends, Denise and Theuns were not just lovely hosts but they cook up a storm. If you want "fine dining" then there are plenty options in town. If you want a Karoo feast with some South African dishes then this is the perfect spot. They have been around since 1989 cooking Karoo meals. Both desert options was stunning, so good that we did not even take a picture. Note: open at 19h00 - only seating for 16 guests so do book. No liquor licince so bring your own. They have a fair selection of soft drink. When in the area do stop by.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank BeaPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2019

An interesting set-up in an old house, almost feels like you are visiting friends. Food was excellent, generous helpings, good value for money - lovely to be served by the owners ( and cooks) themselves.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JanH5329
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2019

At first we we were doomed not to experience this wonderful place as we were the only two booked for the evening but luckily four more people booked at the last minute.
Set in a tiny little house, we ate in the voorkamer. Denise ,our hostess, is a character of note and was dressed in keeping with the eclectic interior design. The menu has apparently been unchanged for about twenty years and all that practice has worked wonders. There is bobotie, chicken pie and lamb and you can order one or all three and they were all very good. Couldn’t eat there every night but will definitely revisit on our next trip to Prince Albert. Take your own wine and cash and not too much as it is very reasonable.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jcor2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2019

We had occasion to have dinner at the Karoo Kombuis on 25 April. Our second visit. We would visit more frequently but it takes over 4 hours to get there!! Food is excellent and service friendly. Not licensed so take your own and some cash as they do not have card facilities. Well worth a visit. Will book again when next we visit Prince Albert. It is advisable to book as the restaurant is very popular.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2019

The food here was amazing !! The lamb was perfect, it could not have been cooked any better. We walked in and were lucky to get a table. Booking first would be advised. The chicken pie is one of the best I have ever tasted and the bobotie was great. Bring your own wine along with you :)

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank douge992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Karoo kombuis also viewed

Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 

Been to Karoo kombuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.