We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$55
View deal
eDreamsUS$55
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
22
19
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
22
19
2
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2019

We're taken here for just an overnight stay, would loved to have stayed longer. Megan and Peter were wonderful hosts. The accommodations were clean, spacious and charming. Very quiet and peaceful location. Loved the decor, some of which was made from recycled materials. Peter introduced me to the goats and other animals that you could feed. A basket was provided if you wanted to pick fresh vegetables from the garden, however, we were there when most of the garden had been picked. Made a point of having a braai while there.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karookhaya, Owner at Karoo Khaya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Hope you get to stay longer next time - and when the garden is overflowing! Thanks for the great review. xx Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2019

Our accommodation, a converted farm cottage, had an amazing mix of recycled/upcycled furniture, fixtures and fittings. Old farm equipment, wood, metal and natural objects have been repurposed in imaginative, artistic and clever ways. Our host was very helpful, friendly and amusing. There was a decanter of her home-made apricot liqueur for us, and a jug of fresh milk in the fridge. Location was just off the main road and near restaurants etc but in a peaceful area. Good value for money. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our time out at KK. All the amenities needed were there. Rooms are spacious too and the communal outside seating under the trees was lovely. Take along you Tabard, hat and sunscreen and enjoy walking along the main toad of PA. Suggestions to the owner: consider placing a second fan in the lounge so that guests do not need to move the one fan forward and backwards between rooms. Guests: Take along your tabard and drinking water. The municipal water is not good.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Blu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karookhaya, Manager at Karoo Khaya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

So glad you enjoyed your time. And thanks for the suggestions! We've added some fans and bottled water xx Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2018 via mobile

We are regulars to PA, (twice yearly)
We love stays at Karoo Kay with Megan & Pete. Here is why...
. lovely spacious units.
. well equipped, fresh milk, rusk, filter
coffee, free wifi & lots more...
. get your fresh veggies from the
garden
. Beautiful, peaceful setting
. Beautiful garden with lots of bird's

Thanks for being brilliant hosts.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hanno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2018

We LOVE the tranquility and peaceful atmosphere. The thoughtful details. That you could pick your own veggies from Pete’s amazing garden. Megan’s home made apricot syrup and Jams. Filter coffee and rusks. the spacious rooms. Not using the car once during our week long stay, walking everywhere. Just book it- you can thank me later

Room tip: we’ve stayed in 1 and 4 which are very spacious
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viva-Travel-Viva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karookhaya, Manager at Karoo Khaya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Thank you! We don't mind if you let the secret out just a little bit ;) (There will always be space for you!) xx Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews