We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chow in beer in town”
Review of Karoo Bierstro

Karoo Bierstro
Price range: R 25 - R 185
Description: Craft Beers and beverages on tap, Best Burgers, Milkshakes, Wine, Lamb Chops. Great atmosphere and service.
Restaurant details
Description: Craft Beers and beverages on tap, Best Burgers, Milkshakes, Wine, Lamb Chops. Great atmosphere and service.
Reviewed 9 November 2023

Most amazing burgers and beer. Friendly and efficient staff. Definitely a must when in Prince Albert

Date of visit: October 2023
2  Thank Schalk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Hitge, Owner at Karoo Bierstro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2023

Thank you Schalk! Looking forward to your next visit.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2023

Best burger in South Africa!!!! Love the experience. Friendly staff great service and delicious food all round. Definitely coming back.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Hitge, Owner at Karoo Bierstro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2023

Thanks Charl! Appreciate the time and effort for writing a review. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2023

Another Prince Albert gem, Karoo Bierstro has a wonderful vibe, very cleverly decorated indoor and outdoor eating, the food was superb, management and staff so friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Waitomo637
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Hitge, Owner at Karoo Bierstro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2023

Thank you for visiting us! Very happy you enjoyed your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2023 via mobile

We were served with a clear passionate understanding on quality and experience by the owner. He loves his beer making and knows how to best pair food with hand crafted beer.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Wanderer53766660497
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Hitge, Owner at Karoo Bierstro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2023

Thank you for the kind words! Hope to see you again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2023

Who would have thought that some of the best burgers in South Africa are to be had at a restaurant tucked away at the end of the main street in Prince Albert, a tranquil Karoo town at the foot of the Swartberg Mountains?

The options are varied. Beef, Wagyu Beef, Chicken, and Falafel grilled to perfection. The Swartberg Wagyu burger with mushroom sauce, Bacon, local cheese from Gay's Dairy, a glorious patty, and the usual trimmings is our favourite. All burgers come with hand-cut chips and a delicious onion ring. For those not keen on burgers, there are Karoo lamb chops, steaks, and comfort food dishes.

A well thought through wine list is complemented by bespoke craft beer brewed by Martin & co on tap. Perfect for a laid-back meal in a welcoming setting with family and friends.

We were hooked from the first bite. To such an extent that Wednesday evenings are for Karoo Bierstro burgers. Every Wednesday!

A favourite of locals and visitors, Karoo Bierstro is well worth a visit.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Easyinthedeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin Hitge, Owner at Karoo Bierstro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Thank you for your honest review! We really appreciate it, and look forward to your weekly visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karoo Bierstro also viewed

Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 
Prince Albert, Prince Albert Municipality
 

Been to Karoo Bierstro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.