We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
Really wonderful experience

This is clearly a place where the founders' compassion is transformative, not only for the lives of... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2020
susanbtravels
,
Los Angeles, California
A labour of love

The love and care which these Donkeys and other equines and animals have found in this sanctuary is... read more

Reviewed 8 December 2019
KittyF890
,
Knysna, South Africa
Read all 8 reviews
  
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
6
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animals pigs rescued donation cruel cuddle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2019

The love and care which these Donkeys and other equines and animals have found in this sanctuary is a breath of fresh air in a world filled with so much cruelty. This Sanctuary has rescued and cared for so many of these creatures and to walk amongst them and cuddle and interact with them is beautiful. Amazing how even those that have been abused in the past have come to trust again and also so lovely to see foals and babies born into a life of care and protection rather than abuse and cruelty. This Sanctuary deserves support - in visits and financially. Thanks for the "personal" tour and time spent to show me around this special place

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank KittyF890
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2019

We stayed in Prince Albert for 2 days, for the explicit reason that we could vissit the sanctuary. I realy, realy wanted to vissit the donkeys. It was my one vacation wish! Went to the tourist info, to make sure we could vissit. The very friendly and helpful woman working at the tourism office gave us a number to call and told us to be at the gate by 10:50. We arrived at 10:45 and I phoned the number immediately, got no answer, waited and phoned again. Again no answer. Looked up the sanctuary on the internet found another number, no answer. I phoned 7 times and got no answer on either number. in the end we left at about 11:10. Later the woman from the sanctuary did phone back and told us that we could return, but she was very curt over the phone and realy did not make us feel welcome to vissit. So in the end we left Prince Albert without seeing a donkey. We might have caught them on a bad day, maybe you will be lucky.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Jamien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2019 via mobile

We arrived just before 11 and promptly at 11am Belinda led a group of us in for a very informative tour. A wonderful opportunity to cuddle donkeys that have all been rescued from cruelty or slaughter.
Other rescues animals on the farm include horses pigs geese cats cows ostriches
All animals are now in incredibly good condition. They rely heavily on donations. And the entrance contributions go towards the costs too.
Great way to educate youngsters too.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Kimsusanjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2019

An amazing place to visit. You walk through a large field full of rescued donkeys and horses and can pat them to your hearts content (if they are willing of course!). Then there are more enclosures at the back with even more cuddly donkeys and other animals. You are encouraged to give them a good pat! What a fantastic job the staff do to care for all these animals. Well worth a visit if you are in the area. Donations for the visit are put to good use here.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank HRB_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2019

Tours are at 11.00am, turn up at the gates with solid shoes on and a sun hat. The tour lasts about an hour and you will meet the donkeys and see lots of other animals that live in the sanctuary. The guys are doing great work to help these delightful animals and should be supported. It is really interesting.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank reef-bore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews