We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
75
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home baked bread working port guest house healthy breakfast big room muesli four nights two night stay place to stay at home a wonderful stay lovely hosts view of the bay stayed longer comfortable beds wonderful view cape town
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Danie and Janni are wonderful people and they have created a great guest house. The view is stunning and Danie is the mastermind behind a fantastic three course breakfast! It's a great base for exploring the Peninsula. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alanmalpassthemalpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Our second stay with Danie and Janni was as nice as expected . The reason we did a second visit to Poseidon is quite simple ; it has just everything you want in a guest house and more ! A fantastic view over the Hout Bay harbour completes the Poseidon experience ! Get pampered by the staff of this lovely place . Very good breakfast with fresh juices , fresh bread and if you want , a cheese platter with 5 different cheeses!
Private parking and a small garden with a nice size pool . A lounge area which my wife loves for reading a book . When you are in luck Danie might bake a very very nice chocolate cake ! Already booked for oktober ; cannot wait to meet 'the guys 'again !!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The guys made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was amazing.. home baked croissants, yoghurt with fresh fruit and nuts, followed by an English breakfast... all looking over the amazing view of Hout Bay. The bed was comfortable with lovely crisp white bedding. Nice modern bathroom.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dianabD7799SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

On the drive to this guesthouse from the working Port we wondered if perhaps we had made a mistake, on arrival we found we hadn’t. Once inside we felt perfectly secure and were warmly welcomed. The hosts quickly put guests at ease and could not be more helpful.
The rooms are clean and secure, our only disappointment being our bed was not as big as usually provided in South African guest houses , but we understand it fitted in with the room decor.
The breakfasts are the piece de resistance of this guesthouse, beautifully cooked !!
The guesthouse is definitely the place to stay if you are new to the area as the hosts go out of their way to point you in the right direction for whatever you may want to do .

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our two night stay. Very clean and comfortable throughout, wonderful views of the bay. Excellent breakfasts. The only thing stopping us giving it 5 star is we did not feel we were able to go out for a walk as one has to pass a mixed race township, we were advised only to drive. Apart from that everything was perfect.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cherrydls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews