We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Quentin at Oakhurst Barn
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Capital Cape colonial country cooking at its finest!
Reviewed 15 February 2020

We had a lovely Valentines meal here last night and I was very impressed. Both the service and food was consistently good throughout a very busy evening for staff. Quentin also appeared at the end of the evening to talk to the guests which was a nice touch.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank 502mginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

We visited here in 2016 and had one of the best meals ever, so was happy to come back on this Cape Town trip. Incredible decor, great staff and the food is excellent, creative, world class. The owner, Quentin, was on hand and clearly is a perfectionist. Good selection of wines, most available by the glass at no premium, but wish the wine list was broader. This restaurant is worth the drive. There are excellent options for vegans and vegetarians as well.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2020

Quintins has everything - charm, elegance, style, and quality of food. It was one of the best meals I’ve had for a long time, anywhere. The Encrusted loin of springbok rested on a pumpkin and cumin tartine was absolutely fabulous. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank M2620VAlaurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile

Fabulous environment with exceptional attentive staff and top quality food. Particularly enjoyed the fact that Quentin introduced himself and took the time to ensure each table were happy with the food and service. We visited while on holiday from the U.K and highly recommend this venue.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank etlasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

I took my wife to this lovely restaurant for a birthday sunday lunch. It was a warm day and we sat outside. It was a buffet style. We had lovely starters which were an assortment of warm and cold food. The tiny corns with bacon wrapped was particularly delicious. We had a bowl of mussels in white sauce with just enough garlic - not too much to spoil the taste. It all followed with roast leg of Karoo lamb and the standard roasties. The dessert was a little disappointing salted caramel tart- too salty for me. The ice cream was home made peanut butter and banana- didn't go too well together in our opinion. We were already stuffed by then so it didn't matter. The host and chef, Quentin, came round to say hello during the main course and was also in charge of the carvery. Very nice chap and very friendly.
Well worth a visit and highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 191krisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Quentin at Oakhurst Barn also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Quentin at Oakhurst Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.