We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
209
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
209
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every morning hosts sue small kitchenette cape town residential area kind hospitality single traveller breakfast served yogurt local knowledge b bs private balcony kirstenbosch botanical gardens friendly welcome house is beautiful great attention to detail wonderful breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Recently stayed in the Hout Bay Hideaway with my wife on our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. Sue and Martin were amazing hosts and couldn't have done more to help, highly recommend. Tom & Laurence

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tomladds11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin Collins, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

It really was our pleasure having you stay and we are so pleased your honeymoon started well. Thanks to your aunt and uncle for recommending us. Hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

We spent two nights at the start of our trip here in Hout Bay. As with the best b&bs we could easily have spent longer. Cape Town is an easy Uber ride away and the lovely Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens are just around the bay. Our room was fabulous: so quiet and with a beautiful view towards Hout Bay harbour. Breakfast was a delicious spread of cereals, fruits, yoghurt, pastries, fresh breads and eggs & bacon if you still had room. Great tea and freshly ground coffee in the room plus a lovely bottle of wine chilling in the fridge. This would make a great alternative to staying in central Cape Town. Thank you Sue and Martin for such a welcome start to our holiday.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GardnersWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin Collins, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your short but sweet stay. Enjoy the rest of your time in SA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020

The Hout Bay Hideaway is located in a quiet exclusive residential area. The house is beautiful with antique furnishings and is spotless clean. The hosts Sue and Martin were wonderful making our stay memorable. We had the pool view room which was lovely over looking the tropical gardens and pool which was lovely for a swim. We had breakfast served on our private balcony which was fabulous with delicious cereal, fresh fruits, yogurt and lovely cakes. Everything was excellent you won’t be disappointed if you stay here.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dhoope690413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin Collins, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you for your very kind words, it was a pleasure having you stay and we hope all went well with the car!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

We were newly arrived from the UK and the Hideaway was a splendid start to out trip. Lovely spacious room with a veranda. Small kitchenette to make drinks and a microwave. Martin and Sue are very welcoming, full of local knowledge and very keen to make sure your stay is the best. Lovely breakfasts
on the veranda. If all our stopping places are like this then we shall have a great stay in South Africa.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 530cliveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin Collins, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

So glad you enjoyed your visit to The Hideaway and hopefully the rest of your time in SA was successful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

We had a wonderful stay at the Hout Bay Hideaway! The hosts were very welcoming and helpful with information about Hout Bay, Cape Town ,and South Africa. We would highly recommend them to anyone visiting the area.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bbfraser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin Collins, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

It really was our pleasure having you stay and thank for the impromptu concert! It was lovely to be serenaded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews