We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Ranked #6 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2017

First time staying in Hout Bay, and we were delighted with everything about this beautiful guest house. Sue and Martin were so friendly and helpful. Our luxurious double room opened out onto a lovely veranda with view over the lush gardens and swimming pool to the mountain beyond. Stunning!
A beautiful breakfast was served to order each morning, on our own little veranda area, It was great being able to cater for ourselves a little too, with fridge, kettle, toaster etc in the room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beitanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for The Hout Bay Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Everything was as advertised and better. Sue and Martin were kind, helpful and welcoming. The rooms were spotless and quiet. Breakfast is a real treat! This B&B is off the charts good! I would give it a 10/10 if I could. Don't hesitate, just go and stay there. Thank you so much for making our stay so comfortable, we didn't want to leave. See you again soon, Lindy & Filip, Red Barn Free range farm.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your time at The Hideaway, it was our pleasure having you stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We've just returned from our fourth magical trip to the 'Hideaway'.
Sue and Martin have lost none of their enthusiasm ,high standards and genuine warmth which made our stay another memorable one.

The immaculate breakfast and accompanying morning chats are not to be missed.

Room Tip: The Skylight Suite with double aspect doors to the wrap around veranda and direct access to the gard...
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, it really was our pleasure having you stay again and we also enjoyed our morning chats. Here's to the next time ..........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I really like Hout Bay. And Hout Bay Hideaway was the perfect place to experience it.
The girl on the plane told me it "wasn't as chi-chi" as the rest of the peninsula. I guess what she meant was that it doesn't try too hard, doesn't try to be something it isn't - is comfortable in its own skin. That suited us.
The Hout Bay Hideaway is a bit like that too. Run by husband and wife couple Martin and Sue it is a welcoming, relaxed and comfortable bolt-hole on the hill behind the bay.
There are four tastefully furnished en-suite rooms. Ours was well-proportioned with a huge bed; two armchairs; desk; a good sized loo and shower room; as well as a closed off space with kettle, toaster and microwave. And double, shuttered, doors led into a balcony where breakfast was served ( and wine drunk, later in the day). Breakfasts were good - fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, breads and a cooked option - and set us up for the day.
What makes it all tick are Sue and Martin: friendly but unobtrusive, chatty but not overbearing, they make you feel truly welcome and their desire for you to enjoy your stay in Hout Bay is palpable.
Hout Bay itself is great. It has a feel of a Mediterranean town in Greece or southern Italy. The restaurants are good - we particularly liked Chapman's Peak Hotel and especially Cheynes - and there were some pretty shops, particularly for textiles and interiors. But most of all we liked that relaxed feel, the friendliness and the gentle pace. If you want trendy bars and a bit of noise head north up the coast but otherwise try Hout Bay. And be sure to stay in the Hideaway, if it is not fully booked.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ONECSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you for your kind words and lovely review. We're so pleased you chose to stay with us in Hout Bay for your first trip to SA and hopefully it won't be your last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

South Africa, we find, often sets the gold standard in guest house excellence. It is rare that we have had cause to complain about our experiences in the Cape. This one exceeded expectations, which is a challenge when you are hardened travellers with many comparables to look to.

This guest house just does it all well, seamlessly, without fuss and with charm. Comfortable beds, tasteful furnishings, delicious breakfasts brought to your terrace at a time to suit you. At its heart are two open and adorable people who have generously upped sticks and moved from Sheffield so that we can enjoy their hospitality in a place we love. We have nothing against Sheffield, but it just does not cut the mustard when compared with Cape Town and the delights of Hout Bay in particular.

Hout Bay is 20 minutes drive from the City Bowl, but what a drive along the spectacular coastline through the famous Camps Bay. Furthermore, the local restaurants are plentiful and excellent with some of the best in the adjoining Constantia suburb. The whole fabulous package is enhanced by the tranquility and comfort offered by Sue and Martin (Martin tells me that Sue is in charge, so her name comes first) who both made us feel very at home. I hope they will let us return...

Room Tip: We loved the upstairs room at the back which overlooks the garden and pool.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for your very, very kind words, it really was our pleasure having you stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your time in SA, good luck with your new venture and we hope to welcome you back to The Hideaway on one of regular trips to Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.8 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#2 of 4 in Hout Bay
150 reviews
0.1 km away
Amblewood Guest House
Amblewood Guest House
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Poseidon Guest House
Poseidon Guest House
#7 of 59 in Hout Bay
57 reviews
3.1 km away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
250 reviews
1.4 km away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#8 of 59 in Hout Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hout Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hout Bay Hideaway

Address: 37 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: R1 629 - R2 145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Hideaway is a peaceful luxurious Guest House overlooking the ocean, mountains and beach of Hout Bay, accommodating a maximum of 9 guests in 4 beautifully furnished rooms. Only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and beach and only a 20 minutes easy drive from the center of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hout Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing