We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
Cap Serein Guest House(Hout Bay)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tarragona Lodge(Hout Bay)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Boutique Hotel(Hout Bay)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Guest House(Hout Bay)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel(Hout Bay)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brightwater Lodge(Hout Bay)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CUBE Guest House(Hout Bay)
US$149
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hout Bay Manor(Hout Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
189
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningowners suewonderful hostshidden awaycape towntasteful furnishingslovely garden and poolcomplimentary bottle of winebeautiful breakfastwell maintained and cleanplentiful breakfastafrican artprivate terraceresidential arealush gardensfresh fruitnight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We've just returned from our fourth magical trip to the 'Hideaway'.
Sue and Martin have lost none of their enthusiasm ,high standards and genuine warmth which made our stay another memorable one.

The immaculate breakfast and accompanying morning chats are not to be missed.

Room Tip: The Skylight Suite with double aspect doors to the wrap around veranda and direct access to the garden and pool is our favourite.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, it really was our pleasure having you stay again and we also enjoyed our morning chats. Here's to the next time ..........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I really like Hout Bay. And Hout Bay Hideaway was the perfect place to experience it.
The girl on the plane told me it "wasn't as chi-chi" as the rest of the peninsula. I guess what she meant was that it doesn't try too hard, doesn't try to be something it isn't - is comfortable in its own skin. That suited us.
The Hout Bay Hideaway is a bit like that too. Run by husband and wife couple Martin and Sue it is a welcoming, relaxed and comfortable bolt-hole on the hill behind the bay.
There are four tastefully furnished en-suite rooms. Ours was well-proportioned with a huge bed; two armchairs; desk; a good sized loo and shower room; as well as a closed off space with kettle, toaster and microwave. And double, shuttered, doors led into a balcony where breakfast was served ( and wine drunk, later in the day). Breakfasts were good - fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, breads and a cooked option - and set us up for the day.
What makes it all tick are Sue and Martin: friendly but unobtrusive, chatty but not overbearing, they make you feel truly welcome and their desire for you to enjoy your stay in Hout Bay is palpable.
Hout Bay itself is great. It has a feel of a Mediterranean town in Greece or southern Italy. The restaurants are good - we particularly liked Chapman's Peak Hotel and especially Cheynes - and there were some pretty shops, particularly for textiles and interiors. But most of all we liked that relaxed feel, the friendliness and the gentle pace. If you want trendy bars and a bit of noise head north up the coast but otherwise try Hout Bay. And be sure to stay in the Hideaway, if it is not fully booked.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ONECSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you for your kind words and lovely review. We're so pleased you chose to stay with us in Hout Bay for your first trip to SA and hopefully it won't be your last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

South Africa, we find, often sets the gold standard in guest house excellence. It is rare that we have had cause to complain about our experiences in the Cape. This one exceeded expectations, which is a challenge when you are hardened travellers with many comparables to look to.

This guest house just does it all well, seamlessly, without fuss and with charm. Comfortable beds, tasteful furnishings, delicious breakfasts brought to your terrace at a time to suit you. At its heart are two open and adorable people who have generously upped sticks and moved from Sheffield so that we can enjoy their hospitality in a place we love. We have nothing against Sheffield, but it just does not cut the mustard when compared with Cape Town and the delights of Hout Bay in particular.

Hout Bay is 20 minutes drive from the City Bowl, but what a drive along the spectacular coastline through the famous Camps Bay. Furthermore, the local restaurants are plentiful and excellent with some of the best in the adjoining Constantia suburb. The whole fabulous package is enhanced by the tranquility and comfort offered by Sue and Martin (Martin tells me that Sue is in charge, so her name comes first) who both made us feel very at home. I hope they will let us return...

Room Tip: We loved the upstairs room at the back which overlooks the garden and pool.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for your very, very kind words, it really was our pleasure having you stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your time in SA, good luck with your new venture and we hope to welcome you back to The Hideaway on one of regular trips to Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

What a fabulous place to spend our time in Cape Town. Martin and Sue gave us a lovely welcome and could not do enough for us. Their gardens are lovely and peaceful and a perfect place to relax and catch your breath. The room we stayed in had a spectacular view over Hout Bay and we breakfasted on the patio every morning enjoying the view and the delicious breakfast. I cannot recommend Hout Bay Hideaway enough and we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thank you, it's always good to get a good review and it's extra special when it comes from a traveler your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hideaway and Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This is a fantastic place to stay - a home that feels like a home but all the touches of a 5* hotel. My room was beautifully clean, equipped & styled. The breakfast was delicious with some of the best home pastries I've ever tasted. But most remarkable was Martin & Sue who went out of their way to look after me during an unexpected crisis. They are exceptional people with an exceptional home.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Thank you for your very kind words. We hope all is well and it would be lovely to see you again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews