We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hout Bay Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Ranked #5 of 61 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

What a fabulous place to spend our time in Cape Town. Martin and Sue gave us a lovely welcome and could not do enough for us. Their gardens are lovely and peaceful and a perfect place to relax and catch your breath. The room we stayed in had a spectacular view over Hout Bay and we breakfasted on the patio every morning enjoying the view and the delicious breakfast. I cannot recommend Hout Bay Hideaway enough and we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Thank you, it's always good to get a good review and it's extra special when it comes from a traveler your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hideaway and Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
111
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017

This is a fantastic place to stay - a home that feels like a home but all the touches of a 5* hotel. My room was beautifully clean, equipped & styled. The breakfast was delicious with some of the best home pastries I've ever tasted. But most remarkable was Martin & Sue who went out of their way to look after me during an unexpected crisis. They are exceptional people with an exceptional home.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, 1 February 2017
Thank you for your very kind words. We hope all is well and it would be lovely to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

Cannot recommend Hout Bay Hideaway highly enough. Accommodation, service, food and views - 5 star all the way. Sue and Martin are the perfect hosts making you feel at home from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay View Suite which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, 26 January 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review and we're really pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Cape Town and your time at The Hideaway. Hopefully it won't be your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

Martin and Sue were such welcoming hosts! Their home is beautiful, welcoming, and very comfortable. The rooms were exceptionally well-appointed. Every item one could want is ready, at hand. We arrived in the evening to a complementary bottle of wine as well as tea and coffee-makings. Nothing prepared me for the beautiful view from our balcony....and soon a delicious breakfast was served there. Martin and Sue are ready to be as friendly as one wants,,,but tactfully retreat when one wants to be alone. They were very kind to us and to our children...piling on extra bacon for our hungry son. The only draw-back was the Internet which was not as reliable as one would hope.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, 22 January 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit and catching up with your relatives. You'll be pleased to know that the hiccup with the internet connection has been resolved and everything is now working as it should.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

This is a fantastic place to stay. The location is great. It's only 5-10 minutes walk to the beach and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and charming, Sue and Martin were superb hosts. If you are looking for a place to relax, this is a place to stay. We stayed for 7 nights, and definitely exceeded our expectation. We will definitely stay at the Hideaway again next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrkusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this review, 19 January 2017
Thank you for your very kind words, it really was our pleasure having you stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in SA after all your planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.8 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.2 km away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Amblewood Guest House
Amblewood Guest House
#8 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.4 km away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 61 in Hout Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.1 km away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#6 of 61 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hout Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hout Bay Hideaway

Property: The Hout Bay Hideaway
Address: 37 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price range (per night): R1 431 - R1 941
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Hideaway is a peaceful luxurious Guest House overlooking the ocean, mountains and beach of Hout Bay, accommodating a maximum of 9 guests in 4 beautifully furnished rooms. Only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and beach and only a 20 minutes easy drive from the center of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hout Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing