We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hout Bay Manor(Hout Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Noordhoek Hotel(Noordhoek)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
189
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningowners suewonderful hostshidden awaycape towntasteful furnishingslovely garden and poolcomplimentary bottle of winebeautiful breakfastwell maintained and cleanplentiful breakfastprivate terracelush gardensresidential areafresh fruitnight's sleepgarden room
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This is a fantastic place to stay - a home that feels like a home but all the touches of a 5* hotel. My room was beautifully clean, equipped & styled. The breakfast was delicious with some of the best home pastries I've ever tasted. But most remarkable was Martin & Sue who went out of their way to look after me during an unexpected crisis. They are exceptional people with an exceptional home.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Thank you for your very kind words. We hope all is well and it would be lovely to see you again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Cannot recommend Hout Bay Hideaway highly enough. Accommodation, service, food and views - 5 star all the way. Sue and Martin are the perfect hosts making you feel at home from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay View Suite which was perfect
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gill411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review and we're really pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Cape Town and your time at The Hideaway. Hopefully it won't be your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Martin and Sue were such welcoming hosts! Their home is beautiful, welcoming, and very comfortable. The rooms were exceptionally well-appointed. Every item one could want is ready, at hand. We arrived in the evening to a complementary bottle of wine as well as tea and coffee-makings. Nothing prepared me for the beautiful view from our balcony....and soon a delicious breakfast was served there. Martin and Sue are ready to be as friendly as one wants,,,but tactfully retreat when one wants to be alone. They were very kind to us and to our children...piling on extra bacon for our hungry son. The only draw-back was the Internet which was not as reliable as one would hope.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit and catching up with your relatives. You'll be pleased to know that the hiccup with the internet connection has been resolved and everything is now working as it should.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

This is a fantastic place to stay. The location is great. It's only 5-10 minutes walk to the beach and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and charming, Sue and Martin were superb hosts. If you are looking for a place to relax, this is a place to stay. We stayed for 7 nights, and definitely exceeded our expectation. We will definitely stay at the Hideaway again next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrkusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for your very kind words, it really was our pleasure having you stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in SA after all your planning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My wife and 20 month old stayed at the Hout Bay Hideaway after a few days of travelling around South Africa and it was everything we hoped it would be and more! British couple Sue & Martin are LOVELY and wonderful hosts. We were really sad to have to say goodbye! This really felt like a proper retreat and uber-relaxing - breakfast brought to you on your own private terrace, plunge pool in the middle of lush green gardens with mountain views (the pool was in range of the baby monitor so a sneaky G&T while having a quick dip during her nap felt like a WICKED treat!), and 5 mins stroll down the hill to the beach and restaurants. Ubers were always available and cost next to nothing back up to the house. The rooms have been thoughtfully and tastefully decorated with art deco furniture and are super comfortable and extremly spacious. We had the Garden Suite because we felt the extra space and our own entrance would be perfect for the three of us, however we had a quick tour of the rest of the house and all the rooms are amazing and we would have felt comfortable in any of them.

I feel I ought to mention the breakfasts as they were something special - fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juice, pastries, cereals, toast were waiting for us when we finally surfaced, and then, brilliantly, Sue would take our eggs order, so no having to anticpiate the night before what you might fancy for breakfast that day. Fresh coffee, teabags and in every room's kitchenette so no need to ask for more or stronger coffee, or more milk in your tea.

I could really go on and on about how fantastic Hout Bay Hideaway is. Sue and Martin as hosts are so warm and welcoming and, and have lots of knowledge to share about the area. We felt confident visiting restaurants and tourist attractions on their recommendations. Needless to say, having spent a jam-packed two weeks in South Africa, there is a lot more for us to see and experience and when we return we will definitly be staying at The Hout Bay Hideaway.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

It really was our pleasure having you and your family stay with us. It was great that you enjoyed Hout Bay and that you also managed to spend some relaxation time at The Hideaway.
Until next time ........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews