We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
Tintswalo Atlantic(Hout Bay)
US$818
US$685
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hout Bay Manor(Hout Bay)
US$240
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel(Hout Bay)(Great Value!)
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$816
US$575
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)
US$194
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Constantia(Constantia)
US$372
US$308
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
189
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningowners suewonderful hostshidden awaycape towntasteful furnishingslovely garden and poolcomplimentary bottle of winebeautiful breakfastwell maintained and cleanplentiful breakfastprivate terracelush gardensresidential areafresh fruitnight's sleepgarden room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

This is a fantastic place to stay. The location is great. It's only 5-10 minutes walk to the beach and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and charming, Sue and Martin were superb hosts. If you are looking for a place to relax, this is a place to stay. We stayed for 7 nights, and definitely exceeded our expectation. We will definitely stay at the Hideaway again next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrkusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for your very kind words, it really was our pleasure having you stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in SA after all your planning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My wife and 20 month old stayed at the Hout Bay Hideaway after a few days of travelling around South Africa and it was everything we hoped it would be and more! British couple Sue & Martin are LOVELY and wonderful hosts. We were really sad to have to say goodbye! This really felt like a proper retreat and uber-relaxing - breakfast brought to you on your own private terrace, plunge pool in the middle of lush green gardens with mountain views (the pool was in range of the baby monitor so a sneaky G&T while having a quick dip during her nap felt like a WICKED treat!), and 5 mins stroll down the hill to the beach and restaurants. Ubers were always available and cost next to nothing back up to the house. The rooms have been thoughtfully and tastefully decorated with art deco furniture and are super comfortable and extremly spacious. We had the Garden Suite because we felt the extra space and our own entrance would be perfect for the three of us, however we had a quick tour of the rest of the house and all the rooms are amazing and we would have felt comfortable in any of them.

I feel I ought to mention the breakfasts as they were something special - fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juice, pastries, cereals, toast were waiting for us when we finally surfaced, and then, brilliantly, Sue would take our eggs order, so no having to anticpiate the night before what you might fancy for breakfast that day. Fresh coffee, teabags and in every room's kitchenette so no need to ask for more or stronger coffee, or more milk in your tea.

I could really go on and on about how fantastic Hout Bay Hideaway is. Sue and Martin as hosts are so warm and welcoming and, and have lots of knowledge to share about the area. We felt confident visiting restaurants and tourist attractions on their recommendations. Needless to say, having spent a jam-packed two weeks in South Africa, there is a lot more for us to see and experience and when we return we will definitly be staying at The Hout Bay Hideaway.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

It really was our pleasure having you and your family stay with us. It was great that you enjoyed Hout Bay and that you also managed to spend some relaxation time at The Hideaway.
Until next time ........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The Hout Bay Hideaway is a very special place to stay. The breakfasts are tasty and beautifully presented and the rooms are large, beautifully and stylishly furnished and immaculately clean. Sue and Martin, the owners are extremely helpful and have enormous information where to visit and where to eat. Nothing is too much trouble to them and they are always cheerful.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Isabelle8133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

It was great having you stay and thank you very much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We had a fabulous stay at this lovely Hideaway, Sue and Martin were fantastic, laid back hosts and could not do enough for us. Our room and view was superb and breakfast on our own private terrace every morning was special.Our first visit but certainly not our last. The rooms were beautifully furnished with great facilities. Neale & Nicki

Room Tip: The BayView Suite
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickirichards2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

We're so pleased you enjoyed your time at The Hideaway and your first visit to Cape Town. it was great having you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The clue is in the name, this lovely house is tucked away amongst trees but still we had wonderful views from our balcony. Our first visit to the country, this was our first guest house and just about the best. Lovely room, very spacious, all you needed, splendid breakfasts served on the balcony. Sue and Martin very helpful about places to eat and offered advice about our proposed route up Table Mounatin.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tupu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your first visit to South Africa and hopefully you will want to return. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews