We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel(Hout Bay)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hout Bay Manor(Hout Bay)
US$231
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tintswalo Atlantic(Hout Bay)
US$890
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$833
US$583
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)
US$195
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Constantia(Constantia)
US$283
US$276
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
189
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningowners suewonderful hostshidden awaycape towntasteful furnishingslovely garden and poolcomplimentary bottle of winebeautiful breakfastwell maintained and cleanplentiful breakfastprivate terracelush gardensresidential areafresh fruitnight's sleepgarden room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The clue is in the name, this lovely house is tucked away amongst trees but still we had wonderful views from our balcony. Our first visit to the country, this was our first guest house and just about the best. Lovely room, very spacious, all you needed, splendid breakfasts served on the balcony. Sue and Martin very helpful about places to eat and offered advice about our proposed route up Table Mounatin.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tupu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your first visit to South Africa and hopefully you will want to return. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at the Hideaway. Honestly it could not have been better. Even before we left Martin and Sue could not have been more helpful, with invaluable advice not just on our time in Cape Town but also on the rest of our time in the Cape. The Hideaway itself was a delight - great location, a wonderful room and a perfect welcome. We particularly liked the breakfast on the balcony - brilliant! During our stay Martin and Sue were incredibly kind and attentive and we left feeling that we had made new friends.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Hideaway and are glad helped you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We really enjoy visiting Hideaway. Sue and Martin are supurb hosts and the rooms are really beautifully furnished. The room we prefer has a large terrace and a view of the bay. Having breakfast brought to the terrace at the time you elect is a joy. If the weather is inclement then you eat at the large kitchen table and watch as Sue prepares the meal and Martin leans on the coffee machine. If we ever moved to or had a holiday home in SA it would be at Hout Bay. Good beach. Interesting port area where you can watch the fishing boats come in and land their huge catches of tuna and kingklip. Good restaurants, not fine dining but excellent quality and, still, reasonably priced by our standards. Thanks Sue Thanks Martin.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank woolfebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinCapetown, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

It was our pleasure having you stay as always. It was good that you managed to find some different interesting places to visit and then recommend to us!!! Looking forward to the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We stayed with Sue and Martin in late October 2016 for 2 weeks. The first three days in the Sentinel Suite and the rest of our stay in the Bayview Suite.
Both rooms are spacious enough for two, the Bayview does offer more space to move around, for the clothes storage and amenities the available room is identical though. The Bayview has a nice and large terrace, the Sentinel one is smaller. As you can use the whole garden the difference is not so important. The rooms are well maintained and clean.
Sue and Martin are both very charming and helpful with recommendations what to do and reservations / ideas for restaurants. We did not feel like guests, more like welcoming friends visiting. The conversations we had were really enjoyable. The breakfast was exactly tailored to our wishes / preferences. There is nothing we can complain about. Actually we should make no review, but keep it a secret.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinCapetown, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thank you for your very kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you again to The Hideaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We stayed at Hout Bay Hideaway for 2 nights at the end of our Kalahari/Namibia holiday. Sue and Martin were delightful and helpful with suggestions for eating out and places to see - and directions were spot on. Breakfast was fab and served in our room as the weather was a bit damp! Lovely, spacious room and beautiful view - couldn't ask for anything more.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LindaJ3P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinCapetown, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at The Hideaway. It was a pleasure having you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews