We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hout Bay Hideaway
Ranked #7 of 59 Hout Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We had a fabulous stay at this lovely Hideaway, Sue and Martin were fantastic, laid back hosts and could not do enough for us. Our room and view was superb and breakfast on our own private terrace every morning was special.Our first visit but certainly not our last. The rooms were beautifully furnished with great facilities. Neale & Nicki

Room Tip: The BayView Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickirichards2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

We're so pleased you enjoyed your time at The Hideaway and your first visit to Cape Town. it was great having you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

The clue is in the name, this lovely house is tucked away amongst trees but still we had wonderful views from our balcony. Our first visit to the country, this was our first guest house and just about the best. Lovely room, very spacious, all you needed, splendid breakfasts served on the balcony. Sue and Martin very helpful about places to eat and offered advice about our proposed route up Table Mounatin.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tupu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your first visit to South Africa and hopefully you will want to return. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at the Hideaway. Honestly it could not have been better. Even before we left Martin and Sue could not have been more helpful, with invaluable advice not just on our time in Cape Town but also on the rest of our time in the Cape. The Hideaway itself was a delight - great location, a wonderful room and a perfect welcome. We particularly liked the breakfast on the balcony - brilliant! During our stay Martin and Sue were incredibly kind and attentive and we left feeling that we had made new friends.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Hideaway and are glad helped you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We really enjoy visiting Hideaway. Sue and Martin are supurb hosts and the rooms are really beautifully furnished. The room we prefer has a large terrace and a view of the bay. Having breakfast brought to the terrace at the time you elect is a joy. If the weather is inclement then you eat at the large kitchen table and watch as Sue prepares the meal and Martin leans on the coffee machine. If we ever moved to or had a holiday home in SA it would be at Hout Bay. Good beach. Interesting port area where you can watch the fishing boats come in and land their huge catches of tuna and kingklip. Good restaurants, not fine dining but excellent quality and, still, reasonably priced by our standards. Thanks Sue Thanks Martin.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank woolfebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinCapetown, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

It was our pleasure having you stay as always. It was good that you managed to find some different interesting places to visit and then recommend to us!!! Looking forward to the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We stayed with Sue and Martin in late October 2016 for 2 weeks. The first three days in the Sentinel Suite and the rest of our stay in the Bayview Suite.
Both rooms are spacious enough for two, the Bayview does offer more space to move around, for the clothes storage and amenities the available room is identical though. The Bayview has a nice and large terrace, the Sentinel one is smaller. As you can use the whole garden the difference is not so important. The rooms are well maintained and clean.
Sue and Martin are both very charming and helpful with recommendations what to do and reservations / ideas for restaurants. We did not feel like guests, more like welcoming friends visiting. The conversations we had were really enjoyable. The breakfast was exactly tailored to our wishes / preferences. There is nothing we can complain about. Actually we should make no review, but keep it a secret.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinCapetown, Owner at The Hout Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thank you for your very kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you again to The Hideaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.1 km away
Amblewood Guest House
Amblewood Guest House
#9 of 59 in Hout Bay
169 reviews
2.2 km away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
562 reviews
3.1 km away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 59 in Hout Bay
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#10 of 59 in Hout Bay
156 reviews
3.1 km away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 59 in Hout Bay
171 reviews
2.6 km away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#12 of 59 in Hout Bay
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hout Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hout Bay Hideaway

Address: 37 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Price Range: R2 008 - R2 458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hout Bay Hideaway is a peaceful luxurious Guest House overlooking the ocean, mountains and beach of Hout Bay, accommodating a maximum of 9 guests in 4 beautifully furnished rooms. Only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and beach and only a 20 minutes easy drive from the center of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hout Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing