We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AND NOW FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT”
Review of Cheyne's

Cheyne's
Ranked #4 of 62 Restaurants in Hout Bay
Price range: R 359 - R 539
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Incredible Contemporary Asian Cuisine, Cocktails and an impressive selection of wines.
Reviewed 11 January 2024 via mobile

Had a super evening with great food which is so different to the majority of restaurants. Good value too as the three of us shared a selection of dishes tapas style.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank anthonyrhidianlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2024 via mobile

A really nice evening, first class,excellent food, very good and friendly service, can definitely highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank daniella t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2024

I will not recommend it due to the size of the portions. We had to add an additional course to the set menu

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2023 via mobile

We had dinner here on our trip to Capetown while staying in Haut Bay. We heard good reviews about this restaurant snd it was recommended by our hotel. Unfortunately, our experience didn’t match any of those. The service was terrible as after our drinks were ordered no one came for quite a while to even offer us water or take our order. I will say, however, that our drinks were good. It also took a while for us to get our food and no one checked on us in between. The restaurant was not busy as there were only two other parties in the restaurant that we could visibly see. In addition to that there was a stray cat that was walking around and we didn’t think too much of the lizard because after all we are in Africa. The food was decent, but nothing special. Overall I think it was the service that killed our experience unfortunately so we can’t really recommend this to anyone.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Mango76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2023 via mobile

Four of us arrived for dinner on Wednesday evening and from the start I got the impression that no one could care less if we were there, or not. An eclectic decor but the poor lighting (presumably deliberate?) made it gloomy as opposed to “atmospheric” which is probably what they were endeavouring to achieve. Menus were presented but not explained and when we asked for help it was not given with particularly good grace! The food, when it did arrive, was mixed, with some dishes receiving full marks whilst others such as the Mumbai beef were very disappointing. All in not a good experience which I couldn’t wait to end - and poor value for money. In today’s competitive environment, the management needs to sharpen up.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Andy810135
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cheyne's also viewed

 

Been to Cheyne's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.