We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious , Friendly & Very Comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Lounge
Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main bedroom
Second bedroom
Lounge
Open plan Kitchen
Bathroom with shower and bath
Undercover parking
Patio
Pool area
Pool and BBQ area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hout Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
173daphne...
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Plumtree Cottage”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in the cottage for a week and were a party of 4 adults. The cottage itself is situated in a very quiet road, about 3 Kms from the beach and the shops. It is a very spacious, clean and well equipped property, One big disappointment, however, was the spa pool. When we arrived the owner admitted there was a leak in the pool and by the end of our first day the water level had drastically dropped and was unusable for the whole of our stay. In fact, after a couple of days, it looked so dirty and almost empty of water it was an eyesore. We were offered the use of the pool belonging to the owner, up to 6pm but as we were out and about each day this didn't suit our needs. All this said, we did enjoy our holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
Good to hear you enjoyed your holiday and the cottage suited your needs. I am sorry you were unable to enjoy our usual sparkling spa pool during your visit or that the main pool did not suit your needs. With our severe drought and water restrictions I did not want to chance topping the spa pool up unless we were sure it was leak free. I am glad to report the leak is now permanently repaired, the pool is sparkling again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Plumtree Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwyn Joh...
2 reviews
“Spacious , Friendly & Very Comfortable”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just the venue we were seeking near Cape town & Local to our Family. Easy access to the Town & nearby Shops.The Accommodation was very well equipped, comfortably furnished & spacious Bedrooms & Bathroom........A very pleasant & rewarding Stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure & comfortable
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Alwyn and Judy are the first guests since our recent renovations. We are eco-friendly now, with a beach cottage facelift to match our green credentials!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Candice S
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a peaceful area”
Reviewed 8 August 2012 for a stay in February 2012

I stayed here in Feb with my husband and two friends. The cottage is clean and spacious. I think it is good value for money and I would recommend this place to anyone looking for value for money and a lovely property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the cottage!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg
Reviewed 7 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing