We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hake & Chips In Cape Town”
Review of Fish on the Rocks

Fish on the Rocks
Ranked #1 of 2 Quick Bites in Hout Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 January 2016

have been to this place after ten years and the food is still as good as it was back then.
Ordered the Hake, Calamari and Chips. This was the freshest seafood served.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rashika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

This is an definitely a dive, hole in the wall kinda place. Quite dodgy looking, however once you get past that, you have to queue to order food. We had some snoek, hake, calamari and Yellow Tail. The Fish was absolutely fantastic. Snoek is a Cape Town delicacy and a must try. The fish that I ate here was among the best that i have eaten in Cape Town and better than some fancier establishments. Do yourself a favour and try this place out.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Raptor0O1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Away from the main harbor, lots of locals, been many times but never ceases to impress. Fresh fish, sustainable fish, served from paper on long benches with the seagulls whirling above and the local fishing boats coming in and out. There is a sign saying "don't feed the seals" but this was ignored by the cook, and unlike the tourist harbor you are not asked for a donation by a dodgy man. This was a memory of food I will remember from that trip, unlike some other restaurants I went to. No Alcoho/halal with a sop on the menu for non fisheaters!l.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Werder286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

The best fresh hake and snoek that I've tasted....
Crispy on the outside and deliciously soft on the inside...
and to add to the beauty of this place is that the take out is halaal with no achohol served on the premises...
The vibe and ambiance with a view of ocean and mountains is excellent and a must for anyone visiting Hout bay...
Fish on the rocks 10 out of 10 for u

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Munira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Not sure why I stopped their. The table area were smelly. While we were eating the smelly trash cans were taken out via the sitting down area spoiled the oily food even more. Will not recommend.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Quintonvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish on the Rocks also viewed

Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Fish on the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing