We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MadforitalyPretoria
Pretoria, South Africa

Perfect Cape Venue for non-beach Goers

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 Jan 2024
Houtkapperspoort is an absolute gem in Cape Town. If you are not wanting to be “on the beach” as a requirement when staying in self-catering it is the best.
Location out of the hubbub of the city, quiet and peaceful, near Table Mountain Park walks.
Our Cottage, no 19, is very well equipped and newly refurbished.
Only criticism is that we could not, after numerous tries, contact the management. I am still waiting for replies to calls and SMS - sent on our day of arrival 10 days ago. Manager Ross simply does not reply to my calls.
Other s
Other staff were excellent.
Date of stay: December 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ross Maltman, Owner at Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate, responded to this review
Responded 06 Jan 2024
Hi there, Whilst I'm very happy to see that King Protea cottage and HKP as a whole made you very happy and that our team impressed you, I'm sorry to hear that you couldn't reach me.
Its rather unusual, as I pride myself on being available to all guests, as much as possible.

I cant see from the title whom I'm speaking with right now, but would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Hopefully I can get the chance to impress you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Ross


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
4.6 km from Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.2 km from Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 002
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 002
4.7 km from Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 745
  • eDreams
4.2 km from Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 500
  • Hotels.com
5.4 km from Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 201
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.9 km from Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 654
  • Trip.com
2.0 km from Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Enjoy gorgeous views over Hout Bay & the Sentinel along Chapman's Peak drive.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 425
  • Booking.com
6.0 km from Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 781
  • eDreams
7.4 km from Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hout Bay
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
79
50
11
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
50
11
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guinea fowl the cottages self catering table mountain yellow wood poplar cottage cape town washing machine cosy cottage felt safe and secure base for visiting set in beautiful grounds mountain retreat two nights short stay cape point beautiful location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2023

We highly recommend staying at this beautiful estate as it is nearby, the airport (25min), and in the middle of the best wine yards (Groot, Glenn and Beau) and also only 10 minutes from the beach (Hour Bay).
The houses are totally beautiful and the nature is great. Also, you feel 100% secure is there is a 24 hour security guard at the entrance.
I also must say that the administrator, Ross is the best we had!
Highly recommended also to stay with kids (playground and tennis and pool with a stunning view).
We come back again !!

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ramonal232
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ross Maltman, Owner at Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Wow Ramona, you're making us blush with such a fantastic review!! Thank you..

We love hosting guests that get as excited about our little corner of the world as we are.
Thank you for such praise and we're super happy that HKP and Maple Cottage in particular lived up to your expectations.

Safe onwards travels and we look forward to hosting you all again before too long.|

Gute Weiterreise und wir sehen uns bald wieder

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023

Nice 2 bed cottage but needs updating eg poor kitchen lighting, no cooker extractor, broken outdoor furniture. Well maintained grounds and friendly staff. Felt secure. Good location near Hout Bay and Constantia, good access to Kistenbosch. Occasional road noise from trucks but otherwise restful location and great sunset views

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ross Maltman, Owner at Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Hi Bill,

Thank you for the positive review score and feedback on the cottage, I'll have to get the chair changed immediately,
I haven't had feedback like that before on the kitchen, I'll go today and see what we can update,
Your feedback is appreciated and gives us areas to improve upon.

Thank you for visiting HKP, we're glad that you loved the estate and cottage overall and we hope to see you again before too long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2023

We rented 4 houses with our family for two weeks, it was really great, a small paradise, within the big paradise Constantia.
The cottages are very comfortable and Ross's personal service was excellent.
Highly recommended, a 10

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DickWijsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ross Maltman, Owner at Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2023

Hello Dick, Thank you so much for the 10 out of 10 score and fabulous review.
I'm so glad that after all the planning and discussions, that your family holiday went off so perfectly.

It was a pleasure hosting you all, and we look forward to seeing you all again before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023

We enjoyed our stay here immensely. The location is ideal, offering both cleanliness and comfort. Worth every cent! I am already planning another trip to the area. Ross, our exceptional host, was always ready to assist.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ross Maltman, Owner at Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Hi Bekekela, Thank you for the great review score and fantastic feedback, i'm very happy to hear that you and the guys enjoyed your stay in Poplar and Yellow Wood Cottage.

You were a pleasure to host and we are already looking forward to your future return visits when your diaries allow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2023 via mobile

I unexpectedly had to check in really early. The staff were super helpful and after a quick call with Ross, I was in. The surroundings are very relaxed and quiet, full of birdlife. The small herd of Springbok and flock of guinea fowl were a real treat to watch in the mornings too. All in all, a really lovely place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ross Maltman, Owner at Houtkapperspoort Mountain Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Hi Greg, thank you for great the review and positive feedback, it means a lots to us.

Early check-in's and late check-outs are always subject to availability, but we do all that can we can to assist, where possible.

I'm happy to hear that you loved your stay at Houtkapperspoort and that Khoka Moya cottage was a great choice for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews