We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John E
Greasby, United Kingdom

Best hotel and staff ever experienced

Review of Leeu House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Nov 2023via mobile
Truly first class amazing hotel.
From the moment you step through the picturesque entrance you are treated by the most wonderful, happy and attentive staff.
Food - we had breakfast every day and it was beautiful.  The choice covered all diets
Rooms - the room was spotlessly clean and spacious and kept on top of by the cleaning staff.  They even did a turndown service which was a nice touch. The bed and duvet were mega comfortable and a good sleep was guaranteed.
Surroundings - The pool was so peaceful with great quality sun loungers, and nice towels and sun creams were left in baskets in the table.
Staff - EVERYONE was so happy, smiley and nicely attentive without being over the top.  They couldn't do enough for us from start to finish.  They were an absolute credit to the hotel manager and should be appreciated.
It was our first time in Franschhoek and we would definitely, and when we do then Leeu House will be our hotel of choice again.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 1 756
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 804
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 694
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 817
0.3 km from Leeu House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 4 650
R 2 846
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 642
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 650
  • Priceline
    R 2 846
0.4 km from Leeu House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 850
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 766
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 781
  • Priceline
    R 1 850
0.6 km from Leeu House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Protea Hotels
R 2 968
R 2 508
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    R 2 533
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 533
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 529
0.8 km from Leeu House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 6 257
R 5 844
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 257
  • Priceline
    R 6 152
  • eDreams
    R 5 844
1.5 km from Leeu House
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 6 204
R 4 657
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 584
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 574
  • Priceline
    R 5 939
2.1 km from Leeu House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 3 018
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 2 461
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 202
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 096
2.7 km from Leeu House
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 2 508
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 503
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 508
  • Priceline
    R 2 507
17.6 km from Leeu House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 9 698
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 783
  • Vio.com
    R 8 308
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 785
0.3 km from Leeu House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
303
27
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
303
27
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street wine tasting our honeymoon a small boutique hotel every member of staff garden area high street middle of town wine tram stayed for nights we loved our stay secure parking estate art turndown loungers sa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2023

Of the 7 places we stayed in while visiting SA, Leeu House was our favorite. We stepped into the lobby and they seated us in front of the fire with a glass of champagne. They took our keys and retrieved our bags and placed them in our room. Every detail mattered to the staff and we felt so cared for. Their turndown service was the best, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom is so perfect for cold rainy days. The room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable, and we had everything we needed. The hotel itself is situated in a very walkable area in Franschhoek and we felt safe walking to grab a drink. When we had plans for dinner on the estate they provided a private driver for a reasonable amount that was billed directly to our room. We enjoyed Epice, and La Petit Colombe, (both part of the property) both were beautiful dinners.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emily3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2023

Leeu House is a lovely gem in Franschhoek! We wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights! The food was excellent, staff went above and beyond, and the location is great for doing the wine tram and other Franschhoek activities/restaurants. Highly recommend Le Petite Colombe at Leeu Estates!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank colleensstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2023

We had heard so many good things about Leeu House and off the back of this, we booked it for the last few days of our honeymoon.
Sadly, despite the staff being lovely and the location being perfect, we were left disappointed by our stay and felt that it was overpriced, the breakfast average and we had stayed in much nicer places which were half the price.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2023

We had an exceptional 2 night stay at Leeu house. Our welcome was warm, accommodation fabulous, very comfortable with soft linen colours throughout and a peaceful atmosphere through the small hotel. The bathroom was a very generous size and everything in Leeu house is finished to a very high standard with beautiful prices of art everywhere. The pool are was very quiet and relaxing and loungers were comfortable, The breakfast in Leeu house was the best we had in SA and service extremely friendly. congratulations Leeu house and we will look forward to returning someday.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank adairbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2023

We had a great experience at Leeu House, which is very conveniently located in Franschhoek next to many good restaurants and bars. We stayed for 2 nights in a large, well-equipped room with all the amenities you'd expect from a small boutique hotel at this level. There's a pool with comfortable loungers (they provide the sun cream) , and a restaurant area where breakfast is served. I found the hot breakfast menu offered to be perfectly fine, offering a nice choice of options.

They offer a limited menu for dinner in the restaurant, but there are so many wonderful restaurants in and around Franschhoek that it was not an issue at all.

We wanted to try out the wine tram while in Franschhoek, which is well worth doing. The tram ticket office is just a few minutes' walk away from the hotel, and a free shuttle bus takes you from the ticket office to the tram if you don't want to drive (why would you?).

I would certainly stay at Leeu House again. The staff were just lovely and so helpful when my other half was ill for a day and confined to quarters. Nothing was too much trouble for them. If you're reading this, thank you all.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JJLye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews