We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kathy H
Chicago, IL

The Last Word - luxury boutique hotel in excellent location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Jun 2024
My husband and I were part of a group of 8 friends who stayed at The Last Word. It was my husband's and my second stay there. It is a luxurious boutique hotel in a very central location in Franschhoek, yet it is very quiet. Almost everything is within walking distance.

The rooms are large and luxurious. Some have heated bathroom floors. Our room was a little smaller than our friends' rooms, but we had our own outdoor seating area. The hotel also has a large common area upon entering the hotel, and an honor bar with a wide variety of wine, beer, spirits and juice and water, for those who want to be a little healthier! There are also areas to sunbathe, sit with friends and chat with other guests on their second level. My husband and I woke up too late to enjoy breakfast each day, but our friends all commented on how good it was.

With your room comes access to a well-equipped gym a two minute walk away, so I took full advantage of that one day to try and burn off 500 of the 1 million calories I had previously consumed on the trip!

The manager we primarily interacted with during our stay was Franklin, and I dare anyone to find a kinder and more gentle man. Our entire group loved him. Conrad came on shift in the afternoon of our last day there, and we wish we had stayed longer to get to him him better as well.

I would highly recommend anyone staying in Franschhoek to stay at The Last Word!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey LastWord, Marketing at Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this review
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for this wonderful feedback, we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 236
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 236
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Last Word Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 6 227
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 227
1.5 km from Last Word Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 307
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Last Word Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 252
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
3.1 km from Last Word Franschhoek
Free parking
Pool
R 2 517
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 517
17.1 km from Last Word Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 10 030
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 10 030
0.8 km from Last Word Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 126
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Last Word Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Protea Hotels
    R 2 508
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Last Word Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    R 2 865
  • Hotels.com
13.8 km from Last Word Franschhoek
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
593
68
22
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
593
68
22
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool suite mini desserts creme brûlée free bar small hotel the main street our honeymoon boutique hotel within walking distance his team turn down service rooms are huge wine tram sparkling wine lounge area restaurant bookings little touches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2024

This was the first stop on our honeymoon and it's safe to say it couldn't have been a better one. Arriving here after a long journey felt like stepping into a little oasis of calm, and instantly Conrad and his colleagues made us feel so welcome and at home. They were there with assistance, travel tips, smiles and some lovely special touches. We really wished we could have stayed longer and it would be the first place we'd go to if we are lucky enough to come back to the area.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atters989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey LastWord, Marketing at Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

Thank you for this wonderful feedback!
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2024 via mobile

The Last Word was absolutely outstanding. We stayed for 2 nights in Room 2.

From the moment we arrived at the gates in our car, to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble for the team.

Room wise we had a pool suite, which exceeded all expectations.

The shared areas were beautifully decorated and a good place to sit, in the evenings, with friends we had travelled with.

Breakfast was superb, possibly one of the best I've had anywhere.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sarahgW4357ZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey LastWord, Marketing at Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

Thank you for this wonderful feedback!
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

Staying in this hotel was a treat from the moment we arrived. A warm professional welcome from Conrad who could not have been more helpful in suggestions for our stay. The room was one of the nicest I’ve ever stayed in, and the breakfast was exceptional. Our only regret was that we couldn’t stay longer, but we certainly will on a future visit.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhrhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey LastWord, Marketing at Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Thank you for this wonderful feedback!
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

Superb high end luxury accommodation. More than a Band B. Superb rooms excellent breakfast easy access from the Main Street Attentive team , interested and great for recommendations
Easy parking with great location. Swimming pool is good Also Gym access

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Minneola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey LastWord, Marketing at Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Thank you for this great feedback!
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

Last Word is a beautiful little boutique hotel perfectly situated at the end of the Main Street in Franschhoek. From the moment we arrived Conrad and his team couldn’t do enough to ensure a perfect stay for us and our friends. Our room was vast with a sitting area, enormous bathroom and super comfy bed. The decor was reminiscent of a Kit Kemp interior. The common areas were spotless and the small pool provided a lovely opportunity to cool down. There’s a welcoming sitting room shared by all guests with the most well stocked honestly bar I’ve ever encountered. Breakfast in the quirky but tastefully decorated dining area was of a high standard and nothing was too much trouble for the team. It was super easy to walk to everything in Franschhoek including numerous wine farms and all the main sites and shops. It was the perfect place to stay for a 3 night visit to due to the location, standard of accommodation and the friendly professional service.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 44Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey LastWord, Marketing at Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Thank you for this amazing feedback!
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews