We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
494
57
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
57
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini desserts pool suite creme brulees small hotel the main street boutique hotel our honeymoon attention to detail each evening his team turn down service within walking distance middle of town rooms are huge underfloor heating sparkling wine stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017

A lovely place to stay. We were so well looked after. Fantastic breakfast. Shame no restaurant but staff so willing to help and recommend and transport guests to any of the many super dining spots in Franschhoek. Rooms totally delightful

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

After having messed up the dates for our booking in Franschhoek, we ended up booking a different place than originally planned for our second and third night. Being within a week of arrival we could make use of a 50% discount offered at the Last Word.
From our (early arrival) and easy check in till our departure the service was impeccable and friendly at all times.

Breakfast was served on the ground floor, with a good selection of "continental" items and cooked options. Also, good coffee and teas.

Our room (number 10, on the first floor) and bathroom (with massive walk in shower and bathtub and a separate toilet) was huge and very tastefully furnished.
There was a complimentary, well filled mini bar in the room and a complimentary bar in the public area on the ground floor.

They also have a transfer/driver service, which isn't expensive and a great way to do a wine tasting in the surrounding area or other trips without the need to self drive.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Globe99trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

This boutique bed and breakfast is nestled steps away from downtown Franschhoek. The accomodations were outstanding...very large room, sitting area, and bathroom as well as private patio and swimming pool. Delicious breakfast to fill your belly before a day of wine tasting. Great location to Wine Tram. If you go to Franschhoek, stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsample2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Perfect boutique b&b. Our large bright, beautiful room contained a large lounge area and private patio. Breakfast far superior to that on our recent 5 star cruise ship. Stocked fridge, wine and food goodies on arrival. Lovely freshly baked goodies (creme brulee, brownies or choc muffins) made a wonderful change from a choc left at the turndown service. Gentle colour pallet used throughout the hotel encourage relaxation, as do the staff (thank you ladies)! Special thanks to Conrad (and Franklin) who always went the extra mile, not just local advice, places of interest, restaurant bookings and transport etc. but being proactive and sorting out potential problems, quietly and efficiently. Particularly loved the champagne and nightlights that filled our room (nightlights not the champagne!) when we came 'home' after dinner on our last evening. All those lovely touches to add to one lasting memory of sitting by the small pool, looking through the red bourgonvilleas to the blue sky beyond and sending an email back to London, in the grips of Winter!

Room Tip: No. 6 has delightful private patio but near to street and some noise from nearby family restaurant.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelToni24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

This boutique hotel is just off the main strip in Franschhoek and just a few meters to excellent restaurants such as French Connection and village pub. Rooms are very large and elegant. The shower alone was larger than a lot of hotel rooms I have stayed in.

The staff is super keen and very helpful. Everything in the minibar and also in the lounge area is free of charge. Many guests raided the minibar on a daily basis to see it restocked the next (actually very common practice in the wine district).

The only downside was that the A/C in the room was not up to par with the size of the room. However, if you pick a room on the ground floor, you can probably avoid that issue.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Tor_Malmros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews