We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #16 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This will be short and sweet. The meal was average, for a HUGE price. Over R600 for a meal for two, with one glass of wine. We won't be back.Ever

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 389 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2010

We had a memorable lunch with friends with a beautiful view, excellent service and good cooking. We then stayed for two nights in recently built accommodation with an enormous bedroom and bathroom opening onto a magnificent terrace with a small shared pool and then a view over the vineyard. The details had not yet been worked out (no hair dryer) and, since the restaurant is closed in the evening, it felt a little isolated overnight - as we went out for dinner in the town we had to let in a late arrival who couldnt make contact with anyone inside to open the security gate. However, everyone was very willing to please (thank you Haroldine) and the breakfast was excellent.

We stayed two nights, wine tasted at Graham Beck, lunched at Dieu Donne, dinner at ici at Le Quartier Francaise, admired the charming town and enjoyed the museum and the lovely shops

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I will buy a property in Franschhoek at some stage. It is totally beautiful. Until I do La Petite Ferme will be my accommodation of choice. I just spent six wonderful nights there in La Maison and Cottage 3. Both are superb. The food is great, the views amazing and the staff great (special mentions to Haroldina and the gorgeous Wilmarie).
One small gripe. Internet connectivity is non existant. They really need to sort this if people like me who can run their businesses remotely are to make regular and extended stays.
Having said that, I will be back soon. Top place!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We first ate at La Petite Ferme over 15 years ago, a wonderful setting, views to die for, excellent service and mouth watering food..... 15 years on and what a disappointment. Yes the view still has the 'wow' factor, but the service was poor, the food was extremely average and the prices extortionate!
If you want a truly wonderful meal in Franschhoek try the Café Bon Bon, Dieu Donné or Le Bon Vivant.
La Petite Ferme is certainly not the place it once was.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreainChateauneuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We booked for lunch. We found the chef was unwilling to change the menu in any way. For example if you don't like garlic they just say you can't have it. The also had no house rose wine as they had run out. After ordering four different times and being told that the chef would not change the ingredients we decided to pay for our drinks and leave. We had the impression that this restaurant was living off it's once impressive reputation and had lost it's customer care touch. We had a much better meal at Dieux Donne restaurant nearby where the view was better, the staff were nicer and it was cheaper.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pmarie9320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.1 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
685 reviews
1.5 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
1.3 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
545 reviews
3.5 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 km away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: R3 964 - R6 877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing