We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
349
139
33
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
139
33
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool bridal suite wine tour manor house vineyard suites gas fire overlooking the valley stunning views sauvignon blanc our honeymoon glass of wine working vineyard private terrace cape town great setting four poster bed underfloor heating
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We had a memorable lunch with friends with a beautiful view, excellent service and good cooking. We then stayed for two nights in recently built accommodation with an enormous bedroom and bathroom opening onto a magnificent terrace with a small shared pool and then a view over the vineyard. The details had not yet been worked out (no hair dryer) and, since the restaurant is closed in the evening, it felt a little isolated overnight - as we went out for dinner in the town we had to let in a late arrival who couldnt make contact with anyone inside to open the security gate. However, everyone was very willing to please (thank you Haroldine) and the breakfast was excellent.

We stayed two nights, wine tasted at Graham Beck, lunched at Dieu Donne, dinner at ici at Le Quartier Francaise, admired the charming town and enjoyed the museum and the lovely shops

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I will buy a property in Franschhoek at some stage. It is totally beautiful. Until I do La Petite Ferme will be my accommodation of choice. I just spent six wonderful nights there in La Maison and Cottage 3. Both are superb. The food is great, the views amazing and the staff great (special mentions to Haroldina and the gorgeous Wilmarie).
One small gripe. Internet connectivity is non existant. They really need to sort this if people like me who can run their businesses remotely are to make regular and extended stays.
Having said that, I will be back soon. Top place!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgarn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We first ate at La Petite Ferme over 15 years ago, a wonderful setting, views to die for, excellent service and mouth watering food..... 15 years on and what a disappointment. Yes the view still has the 'wow' factor, but the service was poor, the food was extremely average and the prices extortionate!
If you want a truly wonderful meal in Franschhoek try the Café Bon Bon, Dieu Donné or Le Bon Vivant.
La Petite Ferme is certainly not the place it once was.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreainChateauneuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We booked for lunch. We found the chef was unwilling to change the menu in any way. For example if you don't like garlic they just say you can't have it. The also had no house rose wine as they had run out. After ordering four different times and being told that the chef would not change the ingredients we decided to pay for our drinks and leave. We had the impression that this restaurant was living off it's once impressive reputation and had lost it's customer care touch. We had a much better meal at Dieux Donne restaurant nearby where the view was better, the staff were nicer and it was cheaper.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pmarie9320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We first went to La Petite Ferme in 1999 and have been back once or twice a year since. We got engaged there, have had birthdays and anniversories there and will always go back there. The owners and staff are wonderful, the views amazing and the wine and food are excellent. The cottages are beautifully done with their own plunge pools, fireplaces - even the view from the baths is fantastic.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SSeahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews