We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holden Manz Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$238
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ivy Apartments(Franschhoek)
US$156
US$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$358
US$322
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ashbourne House Guest House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$338
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$438
US$343
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$740
US$485
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
426
31
10
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
31
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfranschhoek kitchensouth african artbeautiful estatean art gallerywine tastingwine estatefelt like homeheaven on earthcape townstunning locationrooms are spaciousviews of the mountainsa real treatunderfloor heatingstayed longerstayed for nightsbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

This place is amazingly beautiful, set in stunning grounds. It's full of art, and beautiful items. The room was warm and comfortable with quirky little touches. We did the wine tasting and bought a couple of bottles, Big G was my favourite!!!! The food was good, lovely open fire and the wine tram stops here. Eniel was lovely and very helpful when the Franshoek pass was blocked by an accident! (45 min journey ended up taking us 3 hours) breakfast excellent! You wouldn't think it but the rooms are quite near a road, so some traffic noise, but it didn't spoil our stay. Next year we will be returning for our 25th wedding anniversary and will stay longer!!!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dancehotsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

My wife and I stayed at Holden Manz for two nights at the end of March 2017. We had an absolutely amazing time. We live in Abu Dhabi and have stayed at some top quality 5 star Hotels and Holden Manz matched and exceeded them in so many ways. Franschhoek is a beautiful place, but the Hotel is perfectly situated. The décor and general hotel interior is fantastic with some wonderful art work. The suites were superb, with ample space, beautiful comfy beds and a lovely patio looking out at the vineyards and mountains.
As part of our stay is included a wine tasting at the Holden Manz vineyard with some of their exceptional wines from the estate. We especially enjoyed the daily high tea, which we sat and enjoyed on our patio.
The breakfast was superb, with a delicious selection of Hot and Cold choices.
Staff were attentive and well trained with excellent local knowledge. One of the things we like most is that the staff were there when needed, but were not smothering.
We would most definitely recommend Holden Manz to anyone looking for a special break.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Z3643AUalexanderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear Alexander,

It was wonderful having you as our guests and thank you so much for your excellent review! We really appreciate all your positive comments and look forward to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes,

Eneil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We visited the Helen Manz estate last year for lunch and wine tasting. Big G is a favourite! This year we promised ourselves we would stay at the country house & spa, which was everything we hoped for. The staff are all so warm and welcoming, the house is beautiful with fabulous artwork everywhere you look. With just 5 rooms it feels intimate and exclusive. We had the pool to ourselves and had wonderful treatments at the spa. The walk up to the restaurant through the vineyard was magical. The scenery is breath-taking and in the bright sunshine it feels like heaven on Earth. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank antonyb310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear antonyb310,

Thank you for your excellent review. Holden Manz is indeed a little piece of Heaven on Earth and we are so glad you loved your stay here! We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,

Eneil & the Holden Manz team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Amazing scenery, good location, beautiful serene facility, highly recommended. The location of the restaurant on-site was a plus as well. Staff are always attentive and security gave a good feel without being overwhelming. Personal attention from the owners was nice too.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mannih2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear mannih2017,

Thank you for your most wonderful review! It gives us great pleasure reading how much you enjoyed your stay at Holden Manz and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Franschhoek.

Best wishes,

Eneil & the Holden Manz team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

What a place! This is truly heaven...team very friendly restaurant very yummy and amazing sounrounding!
We only stayed two nights, despite the short time it made an impression on my wife and I. The suggestions made by the team on what to try were just top...well done we will be back

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank roberto_garrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Roberto,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of Holden Manz with fellow travellers. It was such a pleasure having you and your wife as our guests and we hope to welcome you back for a longer stay next time.

Best wishes,

Eneil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews