We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A Night Away”
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We were a little disappointed. The setting is great, but the accommodation austere and very average bathrooms. Remember this is a 5 star establishment. No decent coffee facilities in the rooms and when we ordered a cappuccino from the staff there was not even a biscuit or any pastry to have with the coffee. I accept I am a little demanding, and a coffee nut, but you would expect a little more from a 5 star guest house - and given the German links one would think they would have more attention to detail. But again the setting is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike3315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this review, 26 April 2017
Dear Michael,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the locally roasted plunger coffee in the comfort of your suite.

Although we do not offer a sugary treat with every hot beverage our guests order, we do serve high tea in the afternoon between 15:00 and 17:00. It includes delicious sweet and savoury items.

We value your comments and can only look to improve on the points you raised.

Regards,

Eneil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    26
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
240
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

This place is amazingly beautiful, set in stunning grounds. It's full of art, and beautiful items. The room was warm and comfortable with quirky little touches. We did the wine tasting and bought a couple of bottles, Big G was my favourite!!!! The food was good, lovely open fire and the wine tram stops here. Eniel was lovely and very helpful when the Franshoek pass was blocked by an accident! (45 min journey ended up taking us 3 hours) breakfast excellent! You wouldn't think it but the rooms are quite near a road, so some traffic noise, but it didn't spoil our stay. Next year we will be returning for our 25th wedding anniversary and will stay longer!!!!

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dancehotsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2017

My wife and I stayed at Holden Manz for two nights at the end of March 2017. We had an absolutely amazing time. We live in Abu Dhabi and have stayed at some top quality 5 star Hotels and Holden Manz matched and exceeded them in so many ways. Franschhoek is a beautiful place, but the Hotel is perfectly situated. The décor and general hotel interior is fantastic with some wonderful art work. The suites were superb, with ample space, beautiful comfy beds and a lovely patio looking out at the vineyards and mountains.
As part of our stay is included a wine tasting at the Holden Manz vineyard with some of their exceptional wines from the estate. We especially enjoyed the daily high tea, which we sat and enjoyed on our patio.
The breakfast was superb, with a delicious selection of Hot and Cold choices.
Staff were attentive and well trained with excellent local knowledge. One of the things we like most is that the staff were there when needed, but were not smothering.
We would most definitely recommend Holden Manz to anyone looking for a special break.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Z3643AUalexanderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this review, 26 April 2017
Dear Alexander,

It was wonderful having you as our guests and thank you so much for your excellent review! We really appreciate all your positive comments and look forward to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes,

Eneil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We visited the Helen Manz estate last year for lunch and wine tasting. Big G is a favourite! This year we promised ourselves we would stay at the country house & spa, which was everything we hoped for. The staff are all so warm and welcoming, the house is beautiful with fabulous artwork everywhere you look. With just 5 rooms it feels intimate and exclusive. We had the pool to ourselves and had wonderful treatments at the spa. The walk up to the restaurant through the vineyard was magical. The scenery is breath-taking and in the bright sunshine it feels like heaven on Earth. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank antonyb310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this review, 21 April 2017
Dear antonyb310,

Thank you for your excellent review. Holden Manz is indeed a little piece of Heaven on Earth and we are so glad you loved your stay here! We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,

Eneil & the Holden Manz team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Amazing scenery, good location, beautiful serene facility, highly recommended. The location of the restaurant on-site was a plus as well. Staff are always attentive and security gave a good feel without being overwhelming. Personal attention from the owners was nice too.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mannih2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this review, 21 April 2017
Dear mannih2017,

Thank you for your most wonderful review! It gives us great pleasure reading how much you enjoyed your stay at Holden Manz and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Franschhoek.

Best wishes,

Eneil & the Holden Manz team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.7 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.6 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
3.0 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
4.0 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.9 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Property: Holden Manz Country House
Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price range (per night): R1 907 - R5 306
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing