We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haute hospitality in the Winelands - a must-do if you stay in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Haute hospitality in the Winelands - a must-do if you stay in Cape Town”
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We spent just a night, complete with dinner on-site. It's one hour drive from Cape Town and really worth 2 nights so you can explore the other estates, do a wine tasting tour (convenient shuttle organized by the town) and enjoy the spa and pool (we had no time for that unfortunately). Décor is VERY refined, the vineyard is lovely and worth a walk. Franschhoek is an upscale destination for sure (with shopping opportunities that go with it). It reminded me of the Hamptons in New York, you suddenly feel very affluent. In case you have only 3-4 days in Cape Town, I would say Robben Island, Table mountain, Kirstenbosch gardens AND at least 1 night in Franschhoek should be on your to-do list.

Room Tip: we had #2 and it was nice, with a balcony. All must be nice I would say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this review, 12 December 2016
Dear Caroline,

Thank you for your stunning review and for sharing a few travel tips.

I could not agree more - it is definitely worth spending at least 2 nights in Franschhoek.

Hope to welcome you back!

Best,

Eneil & the Holden Manz Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    26
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
240
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Definitely worth a stay here, the hotel is small and the staff are fully focused on the guests.

It's in a great setting and has attached a very nice restaurant.

We wished we had longer to stay there because it's a very calm environment. You almost don't need to leave.

One recommendation would be to have lunch at the hotel instead of having to walk to the restaurant in the vineyard, otherwise great.

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Azure_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We booked three rooms for our stay but unfortunately had to cancel one room when on couple were unable to travel. Eneil (the manager) was helpful in arranging a full refund and we really appreciated the flexible approach he took. The rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. The surroundings are beautiful and peaceful and we had a very relaxing stay. Staff were helpful in arranging taxis into the village as well as arranging an excellent wine tour with a local company, Wine Escapes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this review, 7 November 2016
Dear Caroline,

It was wonderful having you all as our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers. I do wish your friend a speedy and full recovery and hope to welcome you all back in the near future!

Best wishes,

Eneil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2016

An absolutely beautiful winery in a stunning location , Had a wonderful stay at holden manz country house for 2 nights. The rooms were luxurious, staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good .

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this review, 7 November 2016
Dear Anthony M,

Thank you for your wonderful review and positive comments on our luxuriously appointed suites, service and breakfast! We are happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and all our Estate has to offer.

Kind regards,

Eneil & the Holden Manz Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2016

A wonderful place to stay. The whole property is pristine & exquisitely decorated, but the addition of the fabulous art collection lifts it to another level. The rooms were luxurious, staff were attentive and charming, and the breakfast was delicious. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canneslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.7 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.6 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
3.0 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
4.0 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.9 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Property: Holden Manz Country House
Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price range (per night): R1 907 - R5 306
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing