We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holden Manz Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$238
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ivy Apartments(Franschhoek)
US$156
US$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$358
US$339
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashbourne House Guest House(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$338
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$438
US$343
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$740
US$566
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
426
31
10
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
31
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfranschhoek kitchensouth african artbeautiful estatean art gallerywine tastingwine estatefelt like homeheaven on earthcape townstunning locationrooms are spaciousviews of the mountainsa real treatunderfloor heatingstayed longerstayed for nightsbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

The property is lovely, set against the Franschhoek mountain range. The staff receiving us were very polite and helpful. Unfortunately when we arrived to the restaurant for lunch the service went downhill. The waitress was rude, and the risotto was extremely salty, to the point where I just had to leave it. The waiter who we raised the issue to did offer to make another one for us but the food took a very long time (20 mins) so we declined the offer. We also did not feel very welcomed (because we were Chinese and not white?)

Next the wine tasting was not up to standard for the region. We've been to a few in Wellinginton and Franschhoek but this place was obviously understaff - only one person served us together with a group of tourist from the wine tram - we couldn't hardly hear what she said about the wine and in the end we didn't buy any.

For those who doesn't plan every hour of the day on their holiday, you need to book everything in advance for this place. First we emailed a day before our stay to ask about the picnic, they failed to mention that it needs to be booked 24 hours in advance. Next when we asked whether we will be taken around the vines, the reply was "you should have let us known earlier so we could get someone to show you around"....

To end on a better note, the breakfast was lovely. Generally we enjoyed the hotel part a lot but the restaurant and wine tastings (which is the main reason for the visit) totally let us down.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Rleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Rleu,

It is a terrible shame that you did not experience The Franschhoek Kitchen's usual excellent levels of service and quality of food. I have been trying to contact you for weeks, but to no avail. Although I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holden Manz Country House, I am concerned about your remarks insinuating that the restaurant staff is racist. That is simply untrue. I am also concerned about the fact that you claim we did not inform you about advance booking required for picnics when in we pointed that out via email when sending you the picnic menu and weather forecast for the next day. I also wish you made mention of this when I saw you at breakfast as possibly I could have done something to recfity the restaurant and tasting room experience. I can now only apologise.

I hope to be able to welcome you back one day and to have the opportunity to show you that the restaurant and tasting room is on the same high level as Holden Manz Country House.

Best wishes,

Eneil Viljoen
Country House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Our first visit to the Holden Manz Country Home was in 2014. We enjoyed everything about that visit and were interested in seeing if they had been able to maintain such a high standard. We were pleased to see that this experience was even better. The Home is so inviting, the breakfast excellent ,afternoon tea a wonderful treat and the attention from the staff and management first rate. We very much look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank buieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear buieweb,

It was fantastic having you as our guests for 4 nights and being able to exchange so many wonderful stories. Thank you for sharing your incredible experience with fellow travellers.

I look forward to welcome you back for a third visit!

Best wishes,

Eneil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

From being met at the car on a drizzly morning by Eneil with 2 umbrellas, to the welcoming coffee when we got inside, we knew this place was pretty special. Amazing food, serene surroundings and lovely people! Nothing was too much trouble. And Lamack made an amazing breakfastCan't recommend it enough, will look forward to returning some day!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichelleM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We really do appreciate it and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Franschhoek.

Best wishes,

Eneil & the Holden Manz Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Everything about our stay was perfect (and I am a fussy customer!). From arranging the booking where everything was professionally yet warmly dealt with and nothing was too much trouble, to arriving to a very warm welcome, the attention to detail (including a personal note and complementary bottle of beautiful wine), the spectacular accommodation (we didn't want to leave), wonderful food (delicious!) and incredible location, we could not have asked for more.

There are very few hotels that manage to create the perfect balance between 5 star yet still remain homely and welcoming - Holden Manz does this superbly. Everything was perfect (I can't use the word perfect enough) and yet we felt so relaxed and comfortable, like we were in a beautiful home away from home. Every small detail is thought of and it surpassed our expectations.

There is no doubt that we will be back as soon as we possibly can.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

The property is in an excellent location with beautiful views of the vineyards and mountains. Rooms are spacious and well appointed and the common areas house some incredible art pieces. The staff are all very friendly, highly efficient and very attentive - nothing is too much effort for them and they know just how to make one feel special! The combination made our break an incredibly special one to be repeated soon.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 837nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear 837nik,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and share your experience. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back for yet another special, memorable break-away.

Kind regards,

Eneil & the Holden Manz Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews