We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly confusing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2016

An absolutely beautiful building in a stunning location.

As you may know Holden Mainz is the joint venture of a couple. One, with the surname Holden who loves wine and the other, with the surname Mainz who loves Art. We spent some time discussing whether we were staying in an art gallery, country hotel or someone's house. We eventually decided that we had stayed in someone's house but the owners had either gone out or didn't want to see us!

On reflection it was quite strange. The owners quarters were just next to the guests bedroom area and you went pass their kitchen every time you came in or out but they left it to their team to interact with you. I cant really understand setting things up in the way they had if you didn't want to mix with your guests.

The bedrooms were huge, airy with delightfully wide beds. Somewhat strangely the bathroom just had one switch to turn on all the lights and the fan. This meant that if you needed the facilities during the night then 2 of your main senses got bombarded. In fact I ended up so concerned that I would wake my wife that I ended up using my phone as a torch!

We didn't try the restaurant but did have breakfast which, was frankly quite under whelming.

Come for the location and ask for a room away from the road.

Room Tip: Away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kiteperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

The property is lovely, set against the Franschhoek mountain range. The staff receiving us were very polite and helpful. Unfortunately when we arrived to the restaurant for lunch the service went downhill. The waitress was rude, and the risotto was extremely salty, to the point where I just had to leave it. The waiter who we raised the issue to did offer to make another one for us but the food took a very long time (20 mins) so we declined the offer. We also did not feel very welcomed (because we were Chinese and not white?)

Next the wine tasting was not up to standard for the region. We've been to a few in Wellinginton and Franschhoek but this place was obviously understaff - only one person served us together with a group of tourist from the wine tram - we couldn't hardly hear what she said about the wine and in the end we didn't buy any.

For those who doesn't plan every hour of the day on their holiday, you need to book everything in advance for this place. First we emailed a day before our stay to ask about the picnic, they failed to mention that it needs to be booked 24 hours in advance. Next when we asked whether we will be taken around the vines, the reply was "you should have let us known earlier so we could get someone to show you around"....

To end on a better note, the breakfast was lovely. Generally we enjoyed the hotel part a lot but the restaurant and wine tastings (which is the main reason for the visit) totally let us down.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Rleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Rleu,

It is a terrible shame that you did not experience The Franschhoek Kitchen's usual excellent levels of service and quality of food. I have been trying to contact you for weeks, but to no avail. Although I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holden Manz Country House, I am concerned about your remarks insinuating that the restaurant staff is racist. That is simply untrue. I am also concerned about the fact that you claim we did not inform you about advance booking required for picnics when in we pointed that out via email when sending you the picnic menu and weather forecast for the next day. I also wish you made mention of this when I saw you at breakfast as possibly I could have done something to recfity the restaurant and tasting room experience. I can now only apologise.

I hope to be able to welcome you back one day and to have the opportunity to show you that the restaurant and tasting room is on the same high level as Holden Manz Country House.

Best wishes,

Eneil Viljoen
Country House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Our first visit to the Holden Manz Country Home was in 2014. We enjoyed everything about that visit and were interested in seeing if they had been able to maintain such a high standard. We were pleased to see that this experience was even better. The Home is so inviting, the breakfast excellent ,afternoon tea a wonderful treat and the attention from the staff and management first rate. We very much look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank buieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear buieweb,

It was fantastic having you as our guests for 4 nights and being able to exchange so many wonderful stories. Thank you for sharing your incredible experience with fellow travellers.

I look forward to welcome you back for a third visit!

Best wishes,

Eneil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

From being met at the car on a drizzly morning by Eneil with 2 umbrellas, to the welcoming coffee when we got inside, we knew this place was pretty special. Amazing food, serene surroundings and lovely people! Nothing was too much trouble. And Lamack made an amazing breakfastCan't recommend it enough, will look forward to returning some day!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichelleM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldenManz, Manager at Holden Manz Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We really do appreciate it and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Franschhoek.

Best wishes,

Eneil & the Holden Manz Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Everything about our stay was perfect (and I am a fussy customer!). From arranging the booking where everything was professionally yet warmly dealt with and nothing was too much trouble, to arriving to a very warm welcome, the attention to detail (including a personal note and complementary bottle of beautiful wine), the spectacular accommodation (we didn't want to leave), wonderful food (delicious!) and incredible location, we could not have asked for more.

There are very few hotels that manage to create the perfect balance between 5 star yet still remain homely and welcoming - Holden Manz does this superbly. Everything was perfect (I can't use the word perfect enough) and yet we felt so relaxed and comfortable, like we were in a beautiful home away from home. Every small detail is thought of and it surpassed our expectations.

There is no doubt that we will be back as soon as we possibly can.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.7 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
2.6 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
3.0 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
2.8 km away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: R3 635 - R5 367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing