We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Ivy Apartments(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$469/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
328
234
126
74
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
234
126
74
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdish restaurantlovely hotelthatched roofbeautiful settingfine diningunderfloor heatingcape townturn down servicemain buildingviews of the mountainsminute drivelounge areastayed here for two nightsour honeymoonlovely rooma lovely staywine tour
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 805 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is a lovely setting but the service let’s it down
On our second night we booked the fine dining restaurant only to be told later it had been booked by a large party, so we went to the other restaurant (which we had eaten in the night before) two of us ordered the steak sandwich, when it arrived there was only one tiny piece of thin meat in each and they were soggy, we complained to the waiter who ran off, someone else came over who I think was the assistant manager muttered some words and disappeared, we waited for 15 minutes our plates were not even cleared then left .
Half an hour later two of the waiting staff arrived at our room asking to sign the bill
I said we were leaving in the morning and would sort it then.
On arriving in Cape Town I discovered I had left my very expensive (£3000:00) hearing aids on the balcony table. I telephoned the hotel and later emailed but had no replies to either. Even if they weren’t found an email to confirm would have been nice

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank briancapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm d, Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear briancapers

As per the feedback sent to you on the 23rd March 2018.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us following your recent visit to Le Franschhoek Hotel. It was with great concern that we heard how your dining experience was not quite what you were expecting and that you left feeling disappointed.I would like to take this opportunity to extend my personal apologies for the shortfalls in service you received from our Management team.

I had met you on your arrival and was so pleased to hear that you were happy with your rooms and with the property in General. I have followed up with regards to the missing hearing aids but to no avail. With the strong winds it is likely that they blew off the balcony.

We know you only get one chance at a first impression and whilst this was not what you expected, we do hope that you will return to our property in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on the below email should you require any further assistance.

Kind regards

Storm de Lange
Hotel Manager
hm@lefranschhoek.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

A fantastic resort in a beautiful setting overlooking a vineyard 1km or so outside the picturesque village of Franschhoek. With outstanding accommodation,excellent leisure facilities, great dining and friendly staff, you’ll have a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dbrennan171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm d, Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear dbrennan171

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. It’s great to read you enjoyed all aspect of your stay with us. Our dedicated team are passionate about customer service so thank you again for your kind compliments and for recommending us.

I will be proud to share your feedback with them as they too will appreciate this. We hope you will not take too long for us to welcome you back again.

Best Regards,

Storm de Lange
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The title sums it up. We had a large room with well appointed bathroom. Our balcony was also very large with lovely views of the mountains.
Quite a distance from town but we used the shuttle from the hotel which we found a bit expensive by South African standards, it however picked us up very promptly when we requested it to return from town.
We found that the fine dining restaurant lacked atmosphere and although the food was good I still felt hungry afterwards.
Overall though a wonderful short stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monsoon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm d, Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Monsoon09

Thank you for your wonderful compliments of our rooms and views, these are greatly appreciated and I have already shared them with our team who were thrilled to learn that this was the "best hotel of your tour"

I would like to thank you for highlighting your dining experience to us as we continually strive for guest satisfaction.

We trust your journey onward was comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Storm de Lange
Hotel Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed here in 2007 when our kids were very young and were determined to come back one day...we weren’t disappointed. The setting is fabulous surrounded by stunning mountains & vineyards. Excellent friendly service and great food plus swimming pool, tennis court and spa...what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm d, Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Anna C

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent return stay at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa.
It is really wonderful to read that you had such a positive experience with us a second time around.

The Management and Staff are passionate about guest service and I am glad to read that you where well taken care of during your stay.

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next visit.

Warm Regards

Storm de Lange
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had Deluxe room 5, and the kids 'Family" room 34. Room 5 beautifully appointed and very spacious. Huge double bed. Small balcony. Large bathroom with walk in shower. All v clean and comfortable. Kids room decent too. Very good buffet breakfast with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm d, Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear John M

Thank you so much for your valued feedback.
We are delighted that you & your family enjoyed your experience at our beautiful property. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Storm de Lange
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews