We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Madeline D
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Only place to stay in Franschhoek!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 May 2024
I wish I could give more than 5 stars. This was 100 stars and arguably my favorite hotel I've ever stayed in (we even re-arranged our other travel plans just so we could stay an extra night).

Where to begin...
The hotel is perfect in every way. The aesthetic is sophisticated without being stuffy (I wish they could come to design my house!). The rooms are big and luxurious. Each room has a deep tub for soaking, a big bed with the fluffiest duvet, and a cozy sitting area. The rooms are very spacious and private. The bath products are splendid and I wish I had checked my luggage so I could have filled my suitcase to the brim with them!

The space is incredibly thoughtful in design and they did not cut any corners. Comfort is top of mind with heated floors to keep your toes warm in the winter, a minibar that gets restocked daily with your favorite snacks, and even sunscreen and hats by the pool area. Breakfast is included and even if you are not a breakfast person it is not to be skipped! The freshest fruits, homemade granola, and smoothies, then a made-to-order hot breakfast of perfectly cooked eggs or the ripest avocado toast. So yummy!

The entire property is meticulously maintained. There was not an inch of chipped paint, a leaf out of place, or a smudge on a mirror. The housekeeping and maintenance staff do a superb job.

The location is ideal - about a 2-minute walk to downtown Franschhoek where you will find shops and restaurants.

The staff!!! A million out of 10!!! Manette (the manager) understands the art of hospitality and has set a tone of excellence that has trickled down to her staff. If you are sitting by the pool, a glass of champagne will appear or maybe some snacks. If you have a question or need a reservation, one will be made. We had to catch a cab to the airport at 6 am and a to-go breakfast was waiting for us. They think of everything and you feel taken care of the minute you walk in.

If you are on the fence about where to stay in Franschhoek - do yourself a favor and book this. From the moment we arrived, our stay could not have been better. We enjoyed every single minute, and I feel confident you will too!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 10 May 2024
Hi madelinedarrell, Thank you so much for such a brilliant & incredibly generous review - the whole team will be thrilled! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us & hope to see you both back again some day soon Take care of each other & safe travels. Kind Regards, Manette & The Akademie Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 687
R 3 319
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 687
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 319
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 319
0.1 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 882
Go to your Happy Price
  • Official Site
    R 3 290
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 747
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 290
0.4 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 976
  • Priceline
    R 1 901
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 713
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 928
0.1 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 327
  • Priceline
    R 2 625
  • Trip.com
    R 1 854
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 625
0.7 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 533
  • Priceline
    R 2 530
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 533
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 533
0.8 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 696
  • Priceline
    R 2 752
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 483
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 809
0.2 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 607
R 2 347
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 2 607
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 585
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 585
2.7 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 799
  • Priceline
    R 6 110
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 076
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 171
14.5 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 875
  • Priceline
    R 2 461
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 212
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 096
2.9 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 2 508
  • Priceline
    R 2 507
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 508
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 508
17.8 km from Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Franschhoek
Reviews (1 836)
Filter reviews
1 836 results
Traveller rating
1 796
34
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 796
34
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mobile phone attention to detail oortuiging cottage sun hats fruit platter wood burning sun cream hot tub evening drinks thought of everything his team laundry service the main house homemade granola complimentary mini bar the main street private pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1 836 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2024

A stunning boutique property that exhibits a level of attention to detail that could rival the most expensive and renowned of hotel chains. The hot tub on the balcony, the wood fire in the room, the breakfast, and above all the level of service and dedication of the staff, wow to all. This hotel fully deserves the standout score it enjoys across all platforms. 10/10, no question.

Room tip: Make sure to book a room with a wood-fired hot tub.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKH6993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Hi MKH6993, Thank you so much for your fabulous review & we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. It was lovely meeting you both & we hope we'll see you back some day. Take care of each other & safe travels. Kind Regards, Manette & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2024 via mobile

We stayed in some lovely places for our holiday in South Africa but this was a stay like no other.

Every little thing is catered for, from the moment you arrive Declan is out to make your stay incredible and he certainly is a fantastic host. If you need a restaurant recommendation/ reservation he is your man. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool (super comfy loungers and sun hats), spending time in the orangery for a glass of wine before dinner with a wonderful pianist. Centrally located you can walk to most restaurants in Franschhoek.

We adored the room, Gelatenheid A, spacious, light and decorated to perfection with the most comfortable beds of our stay and quality bed linen. Most if not all rooms share a pool area with the other room in the cottage and a private wood heated hot tub.

We have been home just a week and are already planning when we can return and certainly for longer than 2 nights! Thank you Akademie team for making our stay perfect!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Laura_travelexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2024

Hi folks, we hope that you are both well & thank you so much for your very kind & generous review - it is greatly appreciated! It's lovely to learn that you loved your time in Franschhoek & indeed with us, and we would love to see you back some day. Take care of each other & safe travels! Kind Regards, Declan & The Akademie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2024

A week at Akademie Street put us in full agreement with all the superlatives offered by previous guests . Declan and Paul have , indeed , created a warm , welcoming "Home from Home"which is unforgettably "feel good" from start to finish .All the oft mentioned perks : beautifully decorated rooms , outstanding breakfasts , aperitifs and digestifs in the Orangerie each evening , Nicki's wonderful piano and warm personality ,social interactions with other guests , the unique and incredible pool/hot tub combo ,the recommendations and reservations for places to go and surely...certainly , the wonderful , accommodating staff , for whom no request is a problem . Declan's encyclopaedic knowledge (and stories) about the attractions of the region definitely give a big boost to the experience . Paul's decor throughout definitely adds to the feeling of warmth and comfort throughout your stay . From the warm welcome upon arrival , to the waves and HUGS at departure (and really throughout our stay) , this boutique experience was , well ... AS GOOD AS IT GETS !

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Hi avidskiier, Thank you so much for such an incredibly generous & kind review - you really have given the whole team here a massive lift! We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of Akademie street and certainly hope to see you back again before too long - you can expect a very warm welcome! Look after each other & safe travels. Kind Regards, Declan & The Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2024 via mobile

Tasteful, comfortable and thoughtful accommodation with interesting design and furnishings. Service throughout was excellent with attention to detail in all areas. Breakfast was memorable as were the cocktails accompanied by background music. Brilliant stay.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank F8185BBdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Hi F8185BBdavid, thank you so much for taking the time to write your very kind review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you back some day. Take care & safe travels. Kind Regards, Declan & The Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2024

This is the most amazing hotel we have ever stayed in. Declan and his staff were so very welcoming and attentive. The decor and ambiance are stunning. The location to restaurants, shops, and of course the wine tram is perfect. We are so grateful to all of you!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasone907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Declan Mackle, General Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

Hi jason907, Thank you so much for your review & it was such a pleasure meeting you both! Thank you for choosing to celebrate your Honeymoon with us & we're very happy to learn that you really enjoyed your time with us. Enjoy the rest of your Honeymoon folks & look after each other. Safe Travels! Declan & The Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews